Hi, everyone! Welcome back to Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a weekly meme I host. What happens is that I compare two different covers of a book and give my opinion of which cover looks better. Feel free to join in on the fun by giving your opinion of these covers as well! This week’s covers are:

1.  Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan (print and ebook)

maid-of-secrets or maid-of-secrets-2.jpg

I really like the first cover more than the second one. It’s just that the second cover seems a bit more dull with nothing going on but the model holding a dagger. It doesn’t hint at the plot like the first cover does.

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (English and Spanish)

23874708 or everything-everything-2.jpg

While I do like the first cover, I think I like the second cover even more. It might be because of the blue background making things look more lively. Or it could be the amount of cover art that’s all over the place on this cover in comparison to the other. I definitely like the typography of the first cover better, but overall, it’s the second one that’s captured my eye.

3. Venom by Fiona Paul

venom-2 or venom.jpg

This one’s a tough call… but I’d have to go with cover number one! Just look at that smokey background, that intricate mask design as well as the gorgeous typography. It just screams that there’s intrigue and mystery behind this cover! Not that second one isn’t great. However, in my opinion, the model and the background don’t really match…

4. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

the-summer-i-turned-pretty-2.jpg or the-summer-i-turned-pretty.jpg

When I saw the second cover, I knew right away that I liked it better than the first one. Then again, I’ve never really liked the first cover because it seemed a bit boring with three models in the middle, looking like they are doing nothing. I love how the flowers are placed on the cover, as well as the author name and short blurb. Plus, I usually prefer books without models anyways, so that was a bonus!

Well, that’s it for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! Were there any covers that you liked or didn’t like? Are these the only covers you’ve seen of these books or are there more that you think represented the book better than the ones shown here? If so, please share your thoughts in the Comments Section below, as well as any questions you might have. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

 

