My rating: black5

(4.75 stars)

Hey, lovelies! It’s time for another review and this one’s on The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee. It’s about a futuristic New York, where the whole city is just one Tower, but containing a thousand floors and lots of people. The higher you live, the richer you are. This book covers the perspectives of five teenagers who live in different parts of the Tower and how their lives intermingle with one another. I was really excited for this book and I’ve got to say, it didn’t disappoint! It was so intriguing from the getgo, and all those different POVs intermingling, especially at the end!

I thought that the way the author set up the plot was so misleading… but I loved it! The beginning of the story allowed you to compare it with the rest of the novel constantly in order to ask yourself, how did it get so bad, and if there was anything you could do to change that. OMG, and that ending? Powerful. I’m both reeling from anger, yet really happy with it. Strategically, it was a great ending that left the reader in suspense. Emotionally, those last ten pages had me really invested in the world and then the book ended, which yanked me out of The Thousandth Floor and into the real world, where I’d have to wait a whole year for the next book! 😦

The characters in the story were addictive to read about. I just wanted to know more about them and what made them tick. If something was happening to one character, I would think “how would affect so-and-so?”. And then there was the fact that literally everyone had something to hide. The only way this story failed with the characters was that I wanted to hear more from everyone! I know that isn’t possible, but I just couldn’t believe that some important perspectives were just disregarded, especially with that ending! I wonder if other characters will be given a voice within the sequel.

That’s all I have to say about The Thousand Floor by Katharine McGee. And the fact that it’s now my favourite book of 2016… 😉 Is this like Gossip Girl? Nope: it’s Gossip Girl 2.0, along with intriguing sci-fi elements! If you have any comments or questions about this book, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day!

–  Sumaya

