Search

Sue's Reading Corner

where YA books are reviewed

Tag

books

Since I’ve Been Gone

Hey, everyone. It’s been a while. And I wish I could apologize for it and say I won’t do it again. But I probably will. It happens after a while of blogging; I just get tired of putting up content.

Don’t get me wrong. At first, it’s the best feeling in the world to feel the keys beneath my fingers, trying to compose my thoughts about a book and engage with an audience. But some days, I just don’t want to. There are times where I just want to read books without worrying about blogging and it’s amazing. For instance, lately, I’ve been expanding my tastes to romance, both contemporary and historical, and it’s been great. But do I want to blog about all the books I’ve read, even if I liked them?

I guess from here on out, what I can say is that if I ever do blog, it’ll be for me and my own satisfaction. And that doesn’t mean I don’t want people to read my posts. If one more person wants to read The Duchess Deal or another book because they’ve read a blog post of mine, that’s great. However, I’m not going to stress out about where my blog is going or projections for the future of my blog. Because you know what? I’m doing just fine.

–  Sumaya

ARC Review: Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin

Summary

Years ago, the house at the end of the lane burned down. The townspeople never learned what happened, but Rita Frost and her teenage ward, Bevan, were never seen again. Only Mae and her brother Rossa know the truth of what happened that summer—and they’ll never say a word. When they were told they’d be spending their summer with their great aunt, Mae and Rossa were anything but thrilled. But nothing at Rita’s is as it appears. Bevan is enthralled by a dangerous power lurking behind the walls of Rita’s home. The power—known as Sweet James—is hungry, and what he wants most is a taste of the twins. And Bevan wants the magic and escape that Sweet James is offering her. But Sweet James is never satisfied, no matter what Bevan brings him. Mae would give Bevan almost anything—she is in the grip of first love, both dying for Bevan’s attention and worried she’ll get it. But Rossa is learning some of the terrible secrets the house is hiding, secrets that paralyze him with fear. As the summer draws to a close, Bevan tries to free Sweet James from his prison within the walls, but is thwarted by Rita and her cat (who is more than a cat), Bobby Dear.

It’s over for Mae and Rossa, isn’t it? They return home. They don’t talk about the strangeness of that summer. But it never completely abandons them. And things at home only get worse.

And so three years later, Rossa and Mae are sent once again to Rita’s home, as their parents’ marriage finally seems to crumble. At first it seems that the strangeness has dissipated. But Sweet James never left. He has been lurking within the walls, waiting the perfect time to return. He’s been waiting much longer than any of them know—any of them except Rita, who has been keeping secrets of her own. Secrets that bring the house down in flames around them and bring them all to the brink of the things they most want—and what they most fear.

Sarah Maria Griffin is a rare talent with a unique and atmospheric writing style. Fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s All the Crooked Saints and Libba Bray’s The Diviners will devour this dark and unusual novel.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

Hey, fellow readers! Have you started your reading goals for 2019? Let me know if you have and how many books you’re hoping to compete by the end of the year! I’m going for 50! Anyways, today, I’ll be talking about Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin.

First and foremost, I’d like to state the moral of story: don’t have wallpaper in your house. Just use paint to decorate your walls instead. Just kidding! There is no such thing as moral or definitive lesson in complicated stories. And this book was definitely that. Not only are there multiple POVs that aren’t labelled and leave you guessing who it is sometimes, but there are so many mysteries in this novel. Some of them are only meant to be viewed for a moment and never heard of again. Others are more likely to be mentioned later, especially in relation to Sweet James and Bobby Dear. By the way, if a character is named Sweet James, that’s a red flag for disaster!

Anyways, that’s all I have to say about Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes a good thriller, or Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand. Have any questions about Other Words for Smoke? Send them my way via the Comments Section! And for those of you who are interested, this book is in store on March 12th, 2019.

Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

Retellings I Would Definitely Recommend

Hey, everyone! Since reading A Blade So Black, I really wanted to share more retellings with you all! I find that a good retelling not only shares a story that had a lot of appeal to carry on over to today, but also adds something new and different, building on the story and making it more than it was before. Here are just some of the books I’ve read over the years that I would 100% recommend!

Well, those are my retelling recommendations! Do you have any retellings you’d like to recommend? Feel free to share them in the Comments Section below!

Have a nice day!

–  Sumaya

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 44

“It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” is hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date.

Hi, everybody! It’s time for another post of “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” I’m actually pretty excited for this week’s books since this is the first time since 2005 that I’m listening to an audiobook! 🙂

What I’ve Read Recently:

Analee, in Real Life

What I’m Currently Reading:

90s.jpg

What I’m Planning to Read Next:

labyrinth-lost

Well, those are my reading plans this week! What is everyone else reading at the moment?

–  Sumaya

It’s Official: I’m in a Reading Slump

Hi, everyone! Sorry for disappearing on you! It’s just that I’ve been faced with a reading slump and have no idea what to do about it. Every book I try to read starts off as enticing, but then I end up bored with it. Usually, when this happens I just read another genre, but that doesn’t seem to be working…

If you have any advice on what to do when in a reading slump, I would love to hear it!

Have a nice day!

– Sumaya

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑