Search

Sue's Reading Corner

where YA books are reviewed

Month

February 2018

ARC Review: Flight Season by Marie Marquardt

Summary

From Marie Marquardt, the author of Dream Things True and The Radius of Us, comes a story of two teenagers learning what to hold on to, what to let go of, and that sometimes love gets in the way of our plans.

Back when they were still strangers, TJ Carvalho witnessed the only moment in Vivi Flannigan’s life when she lost control entirely. Now, TJ can’t seem to erase that moment from his mind, no matter how hard he tries. Vivi doesn’t remember any of it, but she’s determined to leave it far behind. And she will.

But when Vivi returns home from her first year away at college, her big plans and TJ’s ambition to become a nurse land them both on the heart ward of a university hospital, facing them with a long and painful summer together – three months of glorified babysitting for Ángel, the problem patient on the hall. Sure, Ángel may be suffering from a life-threatening heart infection, but that doesn’t make him any less of a pain.

As it turns out, though, Ángel Solís has a thing or two to teach them about all those big plans, and the incredible moments when love gets in their way.

Written in alternating first person from the perspectives of all three characters, Flight Season is a story about discovering what’s really worth holding onto, learning how to let go of the rest, and that one crazy summer that changes your life forever.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

blue4

Hi, everyone! Another day, another book! Today, I’ll be talking about Flight Season: A Novel by Marie Marquardt. Funny thing is that I actually wished for this book from NetGalley, but I didn’t think I would get it! But I’m glad that I did, because Flight Season: A Novel was pretty great!

What exactly drove me to liking it? Maybe it was the amazing main characters that basically made up this story! From Vivi to TJ to Ángel, these characters allow readers to peek into their minds and let us into their lives and struggles. Although, out of the three, I think I prefer Vivi and Ángel over TJ, mainly because he’s really rude for no good reason in the beginning, making things harder than they have to be. But by the end, I kind of understood where he was coming from. But still, I felt as if he was a little harsh in judging Vivi based on one experience. I probably feel that way because I access to Vivi’s POV and know that she didn’t deserve that.

And then there was Ángel. First of all, I was really intrigued by the writing style of his POV. It seemed as if he was aware that there was audience, because he is addressing someone as “you”, and it isn’t any of the characters within the book. At the same time, it could be because he’s lonely, lying in a hospital bed all day, unable to do anything without help. And second, I loved any scene that included Ángel because he was bound to liven it up, not just for Vivi and TJ, but for readers as well! But there were also times where I would feel so teary reading his POV, as well as so mad at all the circumstances leading him there, the injustice of it all. His story ends in an open way, which isn’t always satisfying, but in this case, it works.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Flight Season: A Novel by Marie Marquardt. It was an interesting read that I would recommend to anyone who isn’t afraid of a good cry! Flight Season: A Novel comes out on February 20th, so if you’re interested, you don’t have to wait much longer!

And if you have any thoughts or questions about this book, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 28

Hi, everyone! I’m back with another post of “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”, a meme hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date. While I didn’t make my reading goal last week, I still got to read some pretty great books!

What I Read Recently: 

What I’m Currently Reading: 

the chaos of standing still

What I’m Planning to Read Next:

What are you reading this week? And have you read any of these titles above? Feel free to share any thoughts or questions you might have in the Comments Section below!

Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

Down the TBR Hole 17

Hey there, fellow readers! It’s time to go through my TBR pile again, with another pst of Down the TBR Hole hosted by Lia @ Lost in a Story. This meme is dedicated to uncluttering your TBR pile, going through each book and choosing which one should stay or go. So, I’ll just get right to it and introduce this week’s choices:

1. Brave New Girl by Rachel Vincent

brave new girl.jpg

If I saw this book in 2013, I might have read it. But based on the dystopian premise, I’m probably not going to get into it…

The verdict: Go

2. Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies by J.K. Rowling

hogwarts short stories.jpg

Most definitely will read this! Hands down!

The verdict: Keep

3. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

the boy most likely to.jpg

While I did like reading My Life Next Door, I don’t know if I can return to that world after all this time. So in this case, I’m going to let the book go.

The verdict: Go

4. How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

how to find love in a bookshop.jpg

Of course I would like to read this book! It sounds so sweet! 🙂

The verdict: Keep

5. Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

spindle fire.jpg

At the moment, I’m not really into fairy tale retellings… Maybe I’ve just read too many of them? Anyways, I don’t think I’m going to read this book anytime soon.

The verdict: Go

Well, that’s all for now! If you have any thoughts or questions about this week’s post, feel free to leave a comment in the section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

 

Review: Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

Summary

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

pink4

Hi, everyone! I’ve finally finished reading something- and that something is Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George! It was pretty great as far as retellings went! I remember reading Much Ado About Nothing, the play Speak Easy, Speak Love is based on, back in university and loving it, so I was really excited for this book! And rightfully so, because I can see the play shining through the retelling as well as a few additional details the novel adds to the tale.

First things first, this book helped me learn a lot more about the Roaring Twenties! As I was reading, I researched the Prohibition era as well as speak easies to get a better sense of the situation within Speak Easy, Speak Love. The author’s note at the end of the novel was pretty helpful as well! I haven’t read much historical fiction lately, and even then, it would be about the Victorian era, never the first half of the century. So there was a lot of new things I learned upon reading this book. 😉

Also, I loved the slew of people that appear in this novel! I felt as if the author had adapted Shakespeare’s characters perfectly into the 1920s! Not only that, but I thought that there was even more character development going on in comparison to the original – especially in Hero’s case, since she was more of a flat character within the play – which made the story a whole lot more interesting and new to me! I love when retellings become something more than the original, having its own twists and whatnot. Otherwise, unless you haven’t read the primary source, the retelling would seem a bit stale, in my opinion.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George! It was a delightful retelling that I would recommend to anyone who liked Much Ado About Nothing! Has anyone else read Speak Easy, Speak Love? What did you think of it? Let me know in the Comments Section below!

Have a nice day, everyone!

– Sumaya

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑