Hello, fellow book lovers! Welcome back to another Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a weekly meme I host. What happens is that I compare two different covers of a book and give my opinion of which cover looks better. Feel free to give your opinion of these covers as well! And this week’s covers are:

1.  Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ulman

everything beautiful.jpg or everything beautiful 2.jpg

Second cover hands-down! Even though both covers look similar, I like the second cover’s absence of curtains, even though they pertain to the story being told. Without the curtains, I can appreciate the night sky a bit more, especially with exquisite depiction of stars! Then there’s the typography, which doesn’t draw attention away from the background, the obvious star of the cover. What I’m trying to say is that there’s a balance between typography design and cover art that I really like!

2. They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

they both.jpg or they both 2.jpg

Huge fan of the first cover! I love the detailed illustration, especially the shadows on the buildings and of the boys. Plus, I think it’s safe to say that I’m real sucker for starry sky backdrops! There’s just something so peaceful and ethereal about them that just appeals to me… The second cover attempts a more playful approach but ends up looking random to me, with the huge hourglass and the boys standing on top of it… Now if the boys were in the hourglass, that would make for an interesting cover, at least in my opinion.

3. All is Beauty Now by Sarah Faber

all is beauty or all is beauty 2.jpg

While the first cover is okay, it has nothing on the gorgeousness of the second one! 😉  I love the splash of colour and the brightness involved as well as how the leaves frame the edges of the cover. It seems as if the illustrator had put a lot of detail into eve the placement of their cover art, which I really admire! Then there’s the bold typography that suits the cover well without overwhelming it too much.

4. Uglies by Scott Westerfield

uglies .jpg or uglies 2.jpg

In this case, I prefer cover number two over the first one. The second cover is more simplistic in its depiction than the first, yet it still is able to convey the plot through just one image. The first cover, however, seems to rely on a bunch of scenes put together into a collage. Instead of clarifying the book’s subject matter, it just makes things more confusing and unnecessarily complicated.

That’s it for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! If you have any comments or questions, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice night!

–  Sumaya

