Hi, everyone! It’s that time of week again: Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a weekly meme I host. What happens is that I compare two different covers of a book and give my opinion of which cover looks better. And if you have any thoughts you’d like to add about these covers, I would love to hear about them in the Comments Section below. Now, without further ado, let’s begin!

1.  The Disenchantments by Nina Lacour (English and German)

the-disenchantments or the-disenchantments-2

While I like the feel of both covers, my vote goes to cover number two! I love the collage set up with all the interesting pictures telling more of a story, as well as the lighting and colour scheme. Plus, it reminds me a lot of Katie Cotugno’s novels. 😉

2. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

love-at-first-sight.jpg or love-at-first-sight-2.jpg

First cover for sure! I love how the first cover uses black and white photography, and blurs the images around the couple so that they seem to be the only ones who matter. Plus, just look at that typography! The second cover is alright, but I feel as if the first cover put in much more effort…

3. That Time I Joined the Circus by J.J. Howard (English and German)

joined-the-circus.jpg or joined-the-circus-2

In this case, I’d go with the first cover hands-down! I choose the first cover mostly because of the atmosphere created with the lights, the elephants and tents, the solitary girl embarking on a journey. I also really like how the typography is understated in this cover because the overall amazing illustration. That way it isn’t overdone. The second cover, while okay, looks more like an MG novel than a YA with its typography and design…

4. Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

graffiti-moon or graffiti-moon-2

Loving that second cover, especially in the way it uses graffiti in the typography as well as the cover’s job in conveying the story a bit more. The first cover just gives a spray can and nothing more, although I do find the words coming out of the spray can to be clever. 😉

Well, that’s a wrap for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! I’ve got to say, I really liked the covers this week, especially for That Time I Joined the Circus! If you have any suggestions for next week’s Which Cover Wednesday, or would like to add your opinion to the mix, feel free to do so in the Comments Section below! Have a wonderful day!

–  Sumaya

