Summary

Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

black3

Hi, everyone! I’m back with another review, this one being on Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. First off, I’ll be honest with you; I read this book in the hopes of expanding my reading horizons. For a while now, I’ve been trying to read outside my comfort zone in case I find something I wouldn’t have otherwise, like The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid. I heard a lot of good things about this book from other bloggers, and I’m really sorry that I couldn’t share their enthusiasm for this novel. But after barely finishing this book, I can say that it just wasn’t meant to be.

The thing was that I got interested in the book at first, making me want to read more. But then I fell into this pattern of interested and bored throughout reading the novel. Granted, it could have been the parts without action or character development, but still. I noticed this happening a lot while I was reading and it kind of irked me. I’d rather be fully invested in a book by this point or at least know early on that I’m not going to like the book so I could DNF and move on. But by the time I got disinterested again near the end, I couldn’t just put the book down because I wanted to know what would happen to them. Speaking of the ending, I didn’t like how the story left things. Even though the story is set in the Wild West and there are dire consequences for actions, I felt like the last part of the book didn’t live up to the potential set in the first part. Overall, I liked the idea of the book, especially when reading in the beginning, but by the end, I was ready to move onto the next book.

But it wasn’t completely a loss, though. I basically read for Kate at certain points because I thought she was great! Well… mostly great. I thought she was a pretty round character, focused on her vengeance for her father, but at the same time, it doesn’t turn her into a stock character. In fact, I thought that her emotional struggle with grief was depicted well. I may not have agreed with everything she did or thought, but I could honestly say that I sympathized with her.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. While I don’t think I’ll be reading a Western again, I’m glad I got the chance to read at least one. Have any of you read Vengeance Road? What did you think of it? If you have any thoughts or questions about this book, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a lovely day!

– Sumaya

