Summary

Kat and Meg couldn’t be more different. Kat’s anxiety makes it hard for her to talk to people. Meg hates being alone, but her ADHD keeps pushing people away. But when the two girls are thrown together for a year-long science project, they discover they do have one thing in common: They’re both obsessed with the same online gaming star and his hilarious videos.

It might be the beginning of a beautiful friendship—if they don’t kill each other first.

Sourced from Goodreads 

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

blue4 copy

(3.75 stars)

Hey, fellow readers! Another day, another review, today’s being on Kat and Meg Conquer the World by Anna Priemaza! When I first heard about book, I knew I had to read it! A femship based on fandom? Yes please! As I read more and more of the book, I grew to love its characters, from Kat and Meg to their families and even the friends they make along the way!

First off, I loved reading about Kat and Meg! The way they just clicked at times made reading this book so worth it. It wasn’t just my need for more femships in YA that made me like them, although that was a factor. It was the fact that as they got to know each other, they achieved this level of comfortableness that they haven’t had with any other person. And they wouldn’t have done that without their shared interest in the YouTuber Lumberlegs or the game Legends of the Stone! I liked how Kat and Meg just accept each other for who they are but not so much that they don’t overcome obstacles of their own. They care for one another but they inspire each other to be brave at the same time.

But the book was pretty slow for me at times. I couldn’t wait for them to warm up to each other. Or to fast forward when I knew something bad was going to happen, but it took a long time to happen. And there were certain parts that were just left without coming back to it, like Kat’s brother and their relationship. I would have liked to seen more from them, but after a certain point, we don’t really hear from him again…

But other than that, I really enjoyed reading this book! Plus it’s set in Canada, which is a bonus for this Canadian after reading so many books set in the US. 😉 In the mood for a Contemporary YA about femships, fandoms, and mental health? Then look no further than Anna Priemaza’s Kat and Meg Conquer the World! If you have any thoughts or questions about this novel, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below! Thanks for reading everyone. And for those of you who are interested, Kat and Meg Conquer the World comes out on November 7th, 2017!

Take care, everyone! And keep reading!

–  Sumaya

I received an advance reader’s copy from HarperCollins Canada in exchange for an honest review.

 

