Summary

What if you could ask for anything- and get it?

In the sandy Mojave Desert, Madison is a small town on the road between nothing and nowhere. But Eldon wouldn’t want to live anywhere else, because in Madison, everyone gets one wish—and that wish always comes true.

Some people wish for money, some people wish for love, but Eldon has seen how wishes have broken the people around him. And with the lives of his family and friends in chaos, he’s left with more questions than answers. Can he make their lives better? How can he be happy if the people around him aren’t? And what hope is there for any of them if happiness isn’t an achievable dream? Doubts build, leading Eldon to a more outlandish and scary thought: maybe you can’t wish for happiness…maybe, just maybe, you have to make it for yourself.

Soured from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

blue4.5

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, lovely readers! It’s been a while, but I finally have my review up for As You Wish by Chelsea Sedoti! And as you can tell from the rating, I loved it! The whole concept was intriguing when I first heard of it. A town where wishes are real and that everyone has access to them? Enter Eldon, a guy who doesn’t know what to do with his wish, try and save his sister or find the perfect wish to set his life right. After all, according to Eldon, everyone else in the town regrets the wish they’ve made. Thankfully, the overall reading experience failed to disappoint me! 🙂

As I’ve said, I really like the paranormal world set up in this book, with it being set in a town called Madison, Nevada. I think it explains how a whole magical town can go unnoticed by the world pretty well, even though it doesn’t really explain how wishing came to be (although it does hint at it near the end). That being said, I like how wishing is connected to adolescence and growing up. You get one wish on your eighteenth birthday, and it’s practically a rite of passage that sets up the rest of your life. After that, you have to take responsibility for your actions (in this case, wishing). You learn so much about people just on their wishes and how they came to be! It makes me really wish an anthology of Madison’s wishes was published for me to read, just like the one in the town museum! 😉

Then there’s Eldon, our protagonist that readers obtain all their info from. At first, you don’t know much about him and just assume that he’s being hard on himself. But as the novel progresses, readers learn more about Eldon of the past and how he was towards others. I found it kind of a funny setup. Usually, the character is made more redeemable by the end of the novel. In this case, Eldon kind of isn’t after learning that he wasn’t so nice to begin with. It was more about rounding out his character than any development really, if that makes any sense. 😉

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book and now want to read more by Chelsea Sedoti! Are any of you excited to read As You Wish? I hope you like it just as much as I do! By the way, all comments and questions are welcome in the section below! And for those of you who are interested, As You Wish comes out on January 2nd, 2018! Thanks for reading everyone!

–  Sumaya

