Hello, fellow readers! It’s already the middle of the week, which means a whole bunch of things, but in this case, it’s that Which Cover Wednesday is upon us! Which Cover Wednesday is a meme that I host in which I compare two covers of the same book and give my opinion on which cover is better. And I’m not the only one who can participate! You can, too! Just leave your opinions about these covers in the Comments Section below! Well, without further ado, here are our lovely covers for this week:

1.  If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

if-birds.jpg or if-birds-2.jpg

Second cover most definitely! The first cover’s background is okay, but the constellation in the middle seems randomly placed. I like the second cover for its simplicity as well as its cute illustration of birds flying amidst the clouds.

2. Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

our-own-private-universe.jpg or our-own-private-universe-2.jpg

My vote goes to the second cover yet again! While I do love the lighting in the first cover, the second cover looks great with the bold typography and the frozen image of a two girls (who are shown through silhouettes) under a night sky. I guess this is a pretty good example of having a less model-centric cover.

3. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

truthwitch.jpg or truthwitch-2.jpg

OMG! If our previous cover of Our Own Private Universe was a good example of a less model-centric cover, than Truthwitch is a pretty good example of why models can be a powerful asset on covers. You’d think I’d like the second cover more than the first, but the first cover still captures my eye with that amazing background image plus our model conveying a sense of power and mystique. The second cover just seems boring in comparison with its own colour and icon… Although, I’ll admit it has lovely typography!

4. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

the-hate-u-give.jpg or the-hate-u-give-2.jpg

In this case, I’d choose the second cover. Not that the first one isn’t good; it’s just that the second cover has this typography that I really like. It also uses its space more efficiently than the first cover, in my opinion, with the model filling out the whole space as well as a black background.

Well, that’s all for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! Have any thoughts on these covers? I’d love to hear them! Also, if you have any suggestions for next week’s Which Cover Wednesday, then feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below! Take care, everyone! And keep reading!

-Sumaya

 

