Summary

Blue Echohawk doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know her real name or when she was born. Abandoned at two and raised by a drifter, she didn’t attend school until she was ten years old. At nineteen, when most kids her age are attending college or moving on with life, she is just a senior in high school. With no mother, no father, no faith, and no future, Blue Echohawk is a difficult student, to say the least. Tough, hard and overtly sexy, she is the complete opposite of the young British teacher who decides he is up for the challenge, and takes the troublemaker under his wing.

This is the story of a nobody who becomes somebody. It is the story of an unlikely friendship, where hope fosters healing and redemption becomes love. But falling in love can be hard when you don’t know who you are. Falling in love with someone who knows exactly who they are and exactly why they can’t love you back might be impossible.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

blue3

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey, everybody! I’m back with another review, this one being on A Different Blue by Amy Harmon. Now I’ll be honest: when I first saw this on NetGalley, it wasn’t the forbidden romance factor that drew me in, but the protagonist herself. I wanted to know more about Blue and witness her development throughout the book. So with that, I really wanted to love this book!

But then I started reading it and realized I didn’t really like Blue as a character. Don’t get me wrong; I understand that she’s been through more than what anybody should have. Plus, I don’t think we’re meant to like her at first, as readers. She’s pretty much mean to everyone at first, but slowly softens throughout the book. But I felt like she had so much more potential than what readers got to see in this novel.
Also, I wasn’t much of a fan of the romance between Blue and Wilson. It wasn’t that I was against it; I just wasn’t really invested in it. Especially when at times I felt there was nothing there between the two characters. What I was invested in were those moments where Blue would learn about herself, her history with Jimmy, as well as how she would try to be a better version of herself, one she could be proud of. Unfortunately, the book ends upon a huge realization, and I would have liked to have seen more develop on that note. Overall, it was an okay read, but not as great as I hoped.

Well, that’s all I have to say about A Different Blue by Amy Harmon. While it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be, it did have its moments. Have you read A Different Blue? What did you think of it? Feel free to share your thoughts in the Comments Section below, whether you’ve read the book or not! Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

