Summary

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

green4.5

Hi, everyone! I’ve got to say, I really liked reading Eliza and her Monsters! Ever since I first heard of i t-and to be honest, I don’t know from where exactly- I knew that I really wanted to read it! Lately (meaning a few years) I’ve been interested in reading fandom friendly fiction, so I thought that this book would be an obvious match for me. And it was! I loved it so much that I couldn’t put it down and finished it in hours!

One thing I liked about Eliza and her Monsters is that it was so engaging, not only with Eliza’s perspective but with the amazing parts of the comics that readers got to see. By the end of the book, I was fully hooked to the comics just as much as actual story that I was grinning so widely at the last comic panel. Plus, it makes me want to read The Children of Hypnos comics, mentioned in the book, which I recently learned was real, only it’s not actually a comic but is told in written format only. 🙂

I also like how the story was set up in relation to the characters. It wasn’t solely focused on the romance; there were other things going on, like Eliza’s relationship with others, her art, herself. Throughout the novel, I thought that Eliza was pretty real to me, and I could understand some of the choices she’d make, even if they weren’t always the right ones, or the ones you know would come back to haunt her…Also, it was nice to see that while Wallace had some effect on her, it wasn’t overdone or unrealistic. For instance, there was this one moment in the book where he was such a jerk, but I liked that it broke from his usual nice guy demeanour. I didn’t like him in that moment as a person, no, but I thought it made the story better and more rounded.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia! Would I recommend this to anyone looking for a really good read, fandom friendly novels in particular? Definitely! If you have any thoughts or questions. let me know in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

