Hi there, wonderful readers! It’s that time of week again: Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a weekly meme I host. What happens is that I compare two different covers of a book and give my opinion of which cover looks better. And feel free to join in on the fun by giving your opinions in the Comments Section below. Here are this week’s covers:

1.  Avalon High by Meg Cabot

avalon-high.jpg or avalon-high-2.jpg

In this case, I prefer the first cover over the second one, seeing as the second one has a model who is merely holding a sword upright in the corner… Maybe if she was doing something else, I might like the second cover more, but overall,  the first cover’s more appealing to me for playing with the typography and cover art.

2. The Lost Marble Book of Forgotten Girl and Random Boy by Marie Jaskulka

the-lost-marble.jpg or the-lost-marble-2.jpg

First cover again! I like how the design mimics a marble book’s cover a lot! Not that the second cover doesn’t look good, because I love its typography and backdrop! It’s just that I like the first cover more.

3. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

princess-academy.jpg or princess-academy-2.jpg

My vote goes to the first cover (what a surprise)! I love the detail into the cute and quaint illustrations and that it includes not one girl centre stage, but all the girls going to the academy. Plus, the model in the second cover does not help in my imagining of Miri…

4. Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

demonglass.jpg or demonglass-2.jpg

Yes to the first cover! OMG, after all this time, I still love the model’s outfit and how it fits with the background, as well as the mirror image below. While I do admit that it screams photo shoot more than a cover, it looks much more better than the second one to me, which just depicts the model’s head and nothing else…

So, I guess this was a week for first covers… 😀 That aside, did any of these covers catch your eye? Let me know in the Comments Section below! Take care, everyone! And keep reading!

–  Sumaya

