Summary

I see London, I see France
I see Sydney’s underpants.

Nineteen-year-old Sydney has the perfect summer mapped out. She’s spending the next four and half weeks traveling through Europe with her childhood best friend, Leela. Their plans include Eiffel-Tower selfies, eating cocco gelato, and making out with très hot strangers. Her plans do not include Leela’s cheating ex-boyfriend showing up on the flight to London, falling for the cheating ex-boyfriend’s très hot friend, monitoring her mother’s spiraling mental health via texts, or feeling like the rope in a friendship tug-of-war.

In this hilarious and unforgettable adventure, New York Timesbestselling author Sarah Mlynowski tells the story of a girl learning to navigate secret romances, thorny relationships, and the London Tube. As Sydney zigzags through Amsterdam, Switzerland, Italy, and France, she must learn when to hold on, when to keep moving, and when to jump into the Riviera… wearing only her polka dot underpants.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: black4

I received this copy from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, everybody! I’m back with another review, this one being on I See London, I See France by Sarah Mlynowski. Now, I’ve read a few books by this author and liked all of them! So when I saw for the blurb for this one, I was thrilled! Luckily, this book didn’t disappoint! 😉

What I really liked was the traveling and the adventure of it all. It’s probably because I’ve always wanted to go traveling to other places, but have hardly left my home city… But I loved seeing what each city had to offer as well as what Sydney and Leela did there. And even when they went to seemingly random places, there was some sort of purpose to it. Except Belgium. Other than the fact that it’s a quick getaway, I feel like that could have been skipped and it wouldn’t have affected the novel’s trajectory at all. Plus, all the traveling around kind of made the romance in the book sweeter (problematic but sweeter)! The only downfall to the focus on traveling is that there is less focus on Sydney’s home life, which is granted. I only wish there was much more of a closed ending regarding Sydney and her family…

Then there were the characters, I thought that they were pretty realistic. They didn’t hide the fact that they were humans and made mistakes or did things that wouldn’t have been in the best interest of the trip and each other. With that being said, I still didn’t like Leela, Sydney’s best friend, until about more than halfway into the book. I empathized with her, but at times, I was in total agreement with Sydney in hoping Leela wouldn’t dedicate their vacation to moping around a lot. But once I warmed up to her, I could see why she and Sydney were friends. As for Sydney, I really liked her overall. She was the character I was able to relate to the most, maybe because I could see where she was coming from since it was her POV. t. I admired that she was trying to do the best she could for everyone, even when it did come back to haunt her.

Overall, I liked I See London, I See France by Sarah Mlynowski, although there were a few things that irked me. I would recommend this book for people who like to read about travelling! Well, that’s all I have to say about this book for now! If you have any thoughts or questions though, I’d be happy to hear about them in the Comments Section below! Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

