Summary

Reagan Forrester wants out—out of her trailer park, out of reach of her freeloading mother, and out of the shadow of the relationship that made her the pariah of Charytan, Kansas.

Victoria Reyes wants in—in to a fashion design program, in to the arms of a cute guy who doesn’t go to Charytan High, and in to a city where she won’t stand out for being Mexican.

One thing the polar-opposite best friends do agree on is that wherever they go, they’re staying together. But when they set off on a series of college visits at the start of their senior year, they quickly see that the future doesn’t look quite like they expected. After two years of near-solitude following the betrayal of the ex-boyfriend who broke her heart, Reagan falls hard and fast for a Battlestar Galactica-loving, brilliant smile-sporting pre-med prospective…only to learn she’s set herself up for heartbreak all over again. Meanwhile, Victoria runs full-speed toward all the things she thinks she wants…only to realize everything she’s looking for might be in the very place they’ve sworn to leave.

As both Reagan and Victoria struggle to learn who they are and what they want in the present, they discover just how much they don’t know about each other’s pasts. And when each learns what the other’s been hiding, they’ll have to decide whether their friendship has a future.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

blue4.5

Hi, everyone! I’ve finally read Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler! I’ve been meaning to read that for a while, ever since I bought it last year… But for some reason, I kept on putting it off. Maybe because didn’t enjoy the last novel I’d read by the author, maybe because it was a book that I bought and therefore, I reasoned to myself, it could wait while other books couldn’t. Whatever the reason was, it doesn’t make up for the fact that I had a pretty great book under my nose the whole time and didn’t realize it!

First off, I’ve got to say that I loved the femship between Reagan and Victoria! Often when I read a contemporary novel, the friendship between women aren’t given much thought in comparison to a romantic relationship or even a friendship between men for that matter. Sometimes, I feel (with emphasis on I feel since this is just my opinion) that if women are friends in a story, it’s a given, but the femship itself is never really explored, which is why I was really excited for this book! For a while now, I’ve been wanting to read a book focused on solely on friendship, especially after Toward a Secret Sky! Just Visiting couldn’t have been read at a better time! What I loved about Reagan and Victoria is how they just clicked even if they didn’t share any of the same interests, with Rae being more of a studious bookworm and Victoria being passionate about fashion! I never got tired of reading them together, and never thought, “this doesn’t sound like a real friendship”, like I did with some books. Sure, they had their ups and downs, but it doesn’t stop them from being there for each other, or trying  to figure out what to do in terms of their future.

As for the plot, I got into it pretty quickly and would have gladly read this in one sitting, if not for the fact of responsibility coming in the way of things… However, once I got ahold of the book, I couldn’t put it down, wanting to know more about Victoria and Reagan’s lives. In terms of their perspective, I didn’t prefer one over the other and thought that they both complimented the story pretty nicely! It’s been a while since that’s happened for me! 😉 The thing about the story was that it revealed info about our protagonists bit by bit, leaving readers wanting to know more! Plus, while the ending wasn’t the one I was expecting, I was still pretty satisfied with it! I thought that they both ended up right where they should be… But before I say too much, I’ll just leave it at that!

Well, that’s all I have to say about Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler! I seriously loved this novel and would recommend to anyone looking for a good femship to read about! Have any of you read Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler? If you have, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it, as well as any questions or comments you might have, in the section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

 

