Blurb

Cata Cordova suffers from such debilitating insomnia that she agreed to take part in an experimental new procedure. She thought things couldn’t get any worse…but she was terribly wrong.

Soon after the experiment begins, there’s a malfunction with the lab equipment, and Cata and six other teen patients are plunged into a shared dreamworld with no memory of how they got there. Even worse, they come to the chilling realization that they are trapped in a place where their worst nightmares have come to life. Hunted by creatures from their darkest imaginations and tormented by secrets they’d rather keep buried, Cata and the others will be forced to band together to face their biggest fears. And if they can’t find a way to defeat their dreams, they will never wake up.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: green2.png

Hey there, everybody! Well, it’s finally happened; I’ve gotten around to reading Dreamfall by Amy Plum. I was really excited for this book, not only because it’s Amy Plum, but it’s Amy Plum writing Sci-Fi, and I was trying to get into that genre lately… Plus, look at that gorgeous cover! It’s surreal! But then I actually got to reading it and found myself utterly bored…

To be fair, there were interesting parts. Especially outside of Dreamfall, the place all the teenagers are connected to in their consciousness. I think I really liked the issue of ethics involved in the experiment, especially since they’re almost all minors. There’s this tension between wanting to do the right thing and, at the same time, saving what’s left of the experiment if possible. And this was all told from the POV of Jaime, a premed student who happened to be there, which I really liked. I felt like Jaime was like a reader himself, observing from the outside, trying to figure out what’s going on, while delving deeper into the pasts of the patients. It was also during these times where both the reader and Jaime would learn more about the patients suffering from insomnia and what led them to take part in this experiment. Piece by piece, it would compliment their dreams and help add to the puzzle!

What I didn’t enjoy about the book was essentially Dreamfall, the collective consciousness the patients were in while trying to survive their own nightmares. At first, I would try to read as much as I could, but by midpoint, I was skimming around those parts like nobody’s business! Some dreams were vivid and memorable, but after a while, it seemed kind of repetitive…That, and the fact that the book drags on way too long for my liking, and by the end of it all, I don’t think even a few hours have passed since the experiment started. For me, there are only a few books that could pull off that stretched-out narrative, and this definitely wasn’t it. And don’t get me started on the POVs! While Jaime’s POV was interesting, I’m curious as to why there are only two other POVs in the book even though there are more characters trapped inside Dreamfall. Was it because of the novel’s length not allowing it? Or maybe the other characters will be featured in the next and final novel, Neverwake… I don’t know, but overall, I didn’t really like it.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Dreamfall for now. While it wasn’t my cup of tea, I’m pretty sure people who like reading about dreamscapes would like this more than I did. Oh, and by the way, if you have any questions, thoughts, or suggestions on great Science Fiction in YA, be sure to leave them in the Comments Section below! Thanks for reading!

– Sumaya

