Blurb

Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and now her psychic visions are helping the police find the town’s missing golden girl. It’s no challenge—her readings have always been faked, but this time she has some insider knowledge. The kidnapping was supposed to be easy—no one would get hurt and she’d get the money she needs to start a new life. But a seemingly harmless prank has turned dark, and Skye realizes the people she’s involved with are willing to kill to get what they want and she must discover their true identity before it’s too late.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: red3-5

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, everyone! I’m back with another review, this one being on The Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook. In this case, I was trying to broaden my horizons by reading something different than what I normally read, so when I saw this title and read its synopsis on NetGalley, I thought that it was interesting and thrilling enough to give it a go. When it came to finally reading the book though, let’s just say that it wasn’t as interesting as I thought it would be…

At first, it seemed like a typical contemporary YA novel, starting off with the protagonist at the end of her senior year wondering what’s she going to do with her life. But then it started getting dark and creepy in terms of the “prank” committed in this book and instead of merely enticing me to read more, I also felt conflicted about how boring things would turn out compared to the leaps my mind would make. I know that the events in the book wouldn’t match my theories, but at the same time, I wanted it to match the wildness of it. Even that big twist around the end was dulled by the fact that nothing was really done about it afterwards. Plus, the book as a whole left some open questions at the end that made the book seem less satisfying than it could have been, especially about the secondary characters…

Then there’s the fact that I had little sympathy for the main character. Even after you learn more about Skye later on in the book, I still couldn’t get rid of my dislike of her. To me, it’s one thing to have a morally ambiguous character, but one without any sense of a code? That’s really bad (in my opinion at least). Other than her fear, there was nothing that really made me connect with Skye.  So after that really bad first impression, and all the other little moments after that, my views of Skye couldn’t be salvaged.

Well, that’s all I have to say about The Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook. While I didn’t like certain aspects of it, I think that anyone going in with an open mind would like this novel. And it did have unexpected twists and turns, I’ll give it that! If you have any comments or questions, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. And for anyone who is interested, The Hanging Girl comes out on October 3rd, 2017. Take care, everyone! And keep reading!

–  Sumaya

