Hello, wonderful people! It’s Wednesday again and you know what that means? Which Cover Wednesday! 😀 Which Cover Wednesday is a meme I host where I compare two different covers of the same book and give my opinion on which does it better. Feel free to join in on the fun by your own opinions on these covers in the Comments Section below! And the covers for this week are:

1.  Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs

sweet-venom.jpg or sweet-venom-2

In this case, I’d go with the first cover. I really like how the model’s face isn’t front and centre on the cover, letting readers imagine their own protagonists. Plus, I like the first cover’s typography in comparison to the second one… Then there’s the fact that the model’s coiling hair reminds me of a serpent, but I’m pretty sure that’s just me! 😀 Overall, there’s a simple elegance to the first cover that I like.

2. Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

under-a-painted-sky.jpg or under-a-painted-sky-2.jpg

Love that second cover! It has a rustic feel to it, with its old chipped painted background and knotted rope! And I love the ombre effect on the typography, as well as its font face! The first cover is pretty though, no doubt about that! It’s just that I like the second cover a bit more.

3. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

the-madmans-daughter or the-madmans-daughter-2.jpg

I really like the first cover. I usually like covers that don’t use models as opposed to ones that do, but this one appeals to me more, from its background of wildlife to the model’s dress to the mixture of colour on the cover! The second cover is a bit boring in comparison…

4. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

nick-and-nora or nick-and-norah-2.jpg

I really like the second cover! Mostly because of the city nightlife background really, but I do prefer the second cover’s typography over the first. Not only is it playful, but it’s easier to read that the first one, which seems to be all over the place…

That’s it for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! What did you think of this week’s covers? Were there some you liked? Some you didn’t like? If you have any thoughts or questions about these covers, let me know in the Comments Section below! Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

 

