Blurb

You probably think that Aled Last and I are going to fall in love or something. Since he is a boy and I am a girl.

I just wanted to say—we don’t.

Frances Janvier spends most of her time studying. When she’s not studying, she’s up in her room making fan art for her favorite podcast, Universe City.

Everyone knows Aled Last as that quiet boy who gets straight As. But no one knows he’s the creator of Universe City, who goes by the name Radio Silence.

When Frances gets a message from Radio Silence asking if she’ll collaborate with him, everything changes. Frances and Aled spend an entire summer working together and becoming best friends. They get each other when no one else does.

But when Aled’s identity as Radio Silence is revealed, Frances fears that the future of Universe City—and their friendship—is at risk. Aled helped her find her voice. Without him, will she have the courage to show the world who she really is? Or will she be met with radio silence?

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating:

purple4

Hello, wonderful readers! Another day, another review, and this one is on Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. For the most part, I really liked it! There were a few small parts I had to skim through, either because I really wanted to know what happened at the end, or they were just too awkward to read, like the interview scene… But other than that, I enjoyed reading this book.

I really liked the writing style of the novel. It kept you on your toes, always second guessing yourself on what might happen or has already happened. It goes back and forth chronologically, but it works. Kind of like a jigsaw puzzle, Radio Silence forces you to question how all the pieces fit together in order to see the bigger picture. Honestly, that’s mainly the reason I read a 496 page book in about a day… 😉

Then there was the idea of  University City! I always love seeing fandoms being built into books and this was no exception! It’s great to read about all the creative energy that goes into University City as well as the creative energy that comes pouring out, like Frances’ fan art. It made me wish that there was even more representation of fandom creativity in the book, or at least more of Frances’ work…

But most of all, I loved Frances and Aled’s friendship! There was no pressure, no tension, no “will they, won’t they?” vibes going on from them. Right from the getgo, we’re told that they don’t fall in love, which is a pretty great way to set up their relationship early on. But I do believe that they love each other, just not in that way. I also really like how they are like two peas in a pod. Instead of that weird and awkward feeling they get with other people, Frances and Aled find their person within one another! Overall, it was just so refreshing to see a girl and a boy be friends and not end up together!

While there’s so much else I’d like to say about Radio Silence, I feel like I’m getting close to spoiler territory, so I won’t say anymore! Radio Silence is perfect for fans of This Song Will Save Your Life as well as anyone who likes a good contemporary about fandoms! If you have any comments or questions related to Radio Silence, feel free to leave them in the section below. Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

