Blurb

Felicity has her entire future planned. Ever since her older sister ran away, she’s had the full weight of her mother’s expectations on her shoulders. So she works hard to get straight As and save for college.

Except sometimes the best things in life are unplanned-like when Felicity meets a handsome, masked stranger while she is volunteering at a charity masquerade ball. She never thought he’d flirt with her. And she certainly never thought he’d turn out to be a member of the world-famous Heartbreakers band, Alec.

Then Felicity uncovers a shocking family secret. Suddenly, she, Alec, and her two best friends are off on a road trip to find Felicity’s missing sister. And she’s about to discover that unexpected turns have a peculiar way of landing her right where she needs to be…

Sourced from Goodreads 

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: red3-5

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello there! It’s time for another review, this one being on Paper Hearts, the second book in The Heartbreakers Chronicles, by Ali Novak! When I first heard about this book on NetGalley, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it! After all, I did read The Heartbreakers and loved it so much! I honestly thought Paper Hearts would pull my heartstrings in the same way… but it failed to have the same effects as its predecessor.

Don’t get me wrong! There were times when I seriously loved the book, like when it would go into Felicity and Rose’s relationship. I really liked the emotional and physical journey Felicity went through to understand her sister’s point of view. It was something she needed to do in order to move on with her life and not be so stuck, for lack of a better term. While the healing process in Felicity’s family is far from over, by the end of the book, you could tell that there is some effort to make amends, which sounds really promising!

Instead, it’s the romance that takes centre stage in this story. While I understand that the romance was meant to be a main part of the novel, it didn’t stop me from almost zoning out at times when all these misunderstandings would happen between Felicity and Alec. It also didn’t help that I kept comparing them to Oliver and Stella, who were so much more interesting to read in the first book! Or maybe it was the fact that while Felicity and Alec as a couple were okay, they didn’t make me want to happy dance or root for them…

As for the plot itself, it was really interesting at first, but then slowed down in the middle to the point where a whole evening took multiple chapters… I know that there was probably a point to what seemed like a huge filler, but I just couldn’t get on board with it, wanting to know what happens afterward.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Paper Hearts by Ali Novak! It wasn’t as good as the first book for me, but I’m sure anyone who loves a slightly lighthearted contemporary will like this book! For anyone who is interested, Paper Hearts comes out on July 1st, 2017. If you have any thoughts or questions about this book, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below. Have a wonderful day!

–  Sumaya

