Blurb

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Sourced from Goodreads

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: purple4

Hey, fellow bloggers! Hope you’re all having a fantastic weekend! Anyways, I’ve finally gotten around to reading Geekerella by Ashley Poston! Now I remember hearing about this book and being so excited for its release. However, while I’m glad that I read Geekerella – since it was pretty good – it wasn’t everything I expected it to be…

It probably had to do with how closely this book was following the Cinderella/Ashputtle storyline. While I did like seeing the parallels between the stories, and how Ashputtle was woven into Geekerella in terms of Starfield and her parents’ legacy, I also found it to be a bit lacking in terms of a few characters, mainly the stepmother. You see, even though readers get a glimpse into the stepmother’s mind when she interacts with Elle sometimes, she bounces right back to the evil stepmother trope that I love to hate! I just wish Catherine, Elle’s stepmother, could have been more complex instead of being relegated to the role of antagonist, or at least had some sort of satisfying resolution that included her. The other characters were really something, though! 🙂

Then there’s the pairing of Elle and Darien to consider. And let me tell you, they do make the book pretty cute to read! From their shared interest in Starfield to their strong chemistry, I loved them right from the start! This is one pairing that I’m willing to root for! As you might have noticed in previous posts, I’m not the biggest advocate on romance lately, especially when it doesn’t do anything for the story. But when it works, it works! 😉

Another thing that made this book fun to read was all things Starfield! I’ve always had a thing for fandom friendly stories, like All the Feels, Queens of Geek, Fangirl and so much more! So how could I not love all the additional information given in the novel about the fandom that Elle loves? Plus, I could feel the love that Elle has for Starfield, with it not only being a huge connection to her parents but also to anything remotely positive while she lived under her stepmother’s reign. It just made me appreciate her fandom even more! Overall, I loved the fandom that the author incorporated into her story.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Geekerella by Ashley Poston. While it might have not been my favourite fandom friendly book, I thought that it was still a good read. If you have any thoughts or comments on Geekerella, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

 

