Blurb

He calls it fate. She calls it blackmail.

Rory has a secret: she’s the vandal who paints graffiti lions all over her small town. If her policeman dad knew, he’d probably disown her. So when Hayes, a former screw-up on the path to recovery, catches her in the act, Rory’s sure she’s busted. Instead, he makes her a deal. If Rory shows him around town, he won’t turn her in. It might be coercion, but at least the boy is hot.

As they spend more time together, Rory worries she made the wrong choice. Hayes has a way of making her want things she shouldn’t want and feel emotions she’s tried to bury. Rory’s going to have to distance herself from Hayes or confront a secret she can’t bring herself to face…

add-to-goodreads-button

Review

My rating: pink4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey, everyone! Another day, another review and this one’s on Love and Vandalism by Laurie Crompton Boyle! As far as NetGalley books go, this one really intrigued me due to the author, which I’ve read before, the description and, let’s face it, the cover! So, once I got the request, I was really excited to start reading it!

At first, though, I found myself not really liking the protagonist, Rory. It might have been because of her attitude towards other people in general that threw me off. Or it might have been her tiff against Starbucks (I’m such a Starbucks fiend, it isn’t even funny). As I got to know her, however, I started to empathize and like her more and more. Partly because I understood that she was going through a really hard time and partly because I thought that she was growing as a person by developing connections with others, and not just on the romantic front.

I was also interested in how Rory’s relationship with her art. I find with most YA novels I read involving art, the protagonist is usually looking for some form of recognition for their work, whether it’s praise or monetary success. It’s just something I’ve been noticing at times. But I liked how Rory was using her art to express herself and in an attempt to manage her grief.

On the romantic front, I thought that Rory and Hayes were a good mix of cute and intimacy, sharing the darker parts of themselves with each other. But I like how the author treated their relationship as neither of them trying to improve the other; rather, they were more focused on themselves. I honestly felt like it was more compelling to read. I’ve read too many books where love is the cure-all for everything, so it was intriguing to see that even though they did care for each other, their problems didn’t just disappear. As for Rory’s relationship with her dad, I really wish that I got to read more resolution from them. Sure, the ending was satisfying for them, but I felt as if it was just the beginning of their reconciliation and wanted to see more!

Well, that’s all I have to say about Love and Vandalism by Laurie Crompton Boyle for now! For anyone whose interested, Love and Vandalism comes out on May 2nd, 2017. Warning though: if you are not in the mood for some heartbreak, then this is not the book for you! Otherwise, keep on reading and let me know what you think! Thanks again for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

