My rating: green4

(4.25 stars)

Hello, again! I’m back with another review, this one being on Internet Famous by Danika Stone. Now when I first heard about this last year, I thought it sounded great! It’s about a blogger named Madi, living in New Jersey and a foreign exchange student named Laurent, who lives in New York. These two meet through the comments section of Madi’s blog, MadLibs, and start to build a connection that has the potential to be something more. Meanwhile, Madi’s also facing adversity in the form of troll who is not in the mood to be ignored. Anyways, you know when you hype up a book in your mind and once you finally read it, it doesn’t deliver in the way you expected it would? Well, this book… did no such thing! 😄

While the beginning might have been a bit slow for me, by the time I read a few chapters, I was hooked! I loved all the extra stuff, like the blog posts (made me want to participate in the Comments Section of MadLibs), tumblr and snapsed (the book’s equivalent of Snapchat) pictures! The sad thing was that I really wanted to follow MadLibs after reading this book. Too bad it isn’t real… but who knows, maybe there’ll be a site up for Madi soon like there is for Liv and Xander from All the Feels, Danika Stone’s previous YA novel! Hopefully!

I was also on the edge of my seat as I was trying to figure out who the troll could be! Honestly, I suspected everyone until near the very end; that’s when it became clear. But it wasn’t obvious to me before and I liked the author could hide that info so well! In real life, I wouldn’t like it as much. I’m just thankful that the community in a part of is so supportive and friendly! Thanks, everyone! You all are rockstars! 🎸

Another cool thing about this book is that it’s set in the same world as All the Feels, and you see these references to Starveil, Spartan and those amazing fanfics from that novel! 😍 And while those mentions were nice, it kind of made it hard for me to like the new set of characters at first, because I kept on comparing them to characters from All the Feels. For instance, at first I thought that Laurent is no Xander, but by the end of the book, I was thinking,”Well, Xander sure is no Laurent!” And while Madi and Liv share a few similarities, I find Madi to be more assertive than Liv, and I love the strong relationship she has with her sister, Sarah.  Overall, once I got past seeing the characters through an All the Feels lens, I was championing them like nobody’s business! 😉

Well, that’s all I have to say about Internet Famous by Danika Stone! I really thought this novel was something! I recommend this to anyone looking for a cute contemporary with a modern romance as well as any fans of All the Feels! If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below! And for those of you who are interested, Internet Famous is out on June 6th, 2017! Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

I received this copy from Raincoast Books in exchange for an honest review.

