My rating:

red1.5

(DNF review)

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, everyone! Another day, another review, and this one is on Sucktown, Alaska by Craig Dirkes. When I first requested it on NetGalley, I think I only had to read the first paragraph of the blurb to find it interesting. It’s about a guy named Eddie who works as a reporter in a small town called Kusko after flunking out of the University of Anchorage. And at first, I was really invested in it. Especially in the reporter aspects of the novel and the funny articles. But once I read about a third of the novel, and it became less about reporting, I started to lose interest and skimmed. A lot. So much so that I would lose chunks of the story yet somehow still know what’s going on. In the end, what started out as something really enjoyable became something I just couldn’t read anymore.

As I’ve said before, the novel did start out interesting with Eddie’s reporting and articles in The Delta Patriot, the newspaper he works for in Kusko. It was cool to see Eddie go all out for a career he loves, even though the place is less than ideal for him. Everyone tries to warn him about it, but instead of just quitting at the first sign of trouble, he sticks it out, which I had admired. I just wish he kept that resolve later on in the book.

Then there was Eddie’s logic on his staying at Kusko. While I thought it was admirable that he was willing to make up for his mistakes and prove that he is serious about journalism even after his mistakes, all that resolve goes out the window because of a girl he had just met. I’d say it was on a whim except he makes decisions affecting him in the long run because of it. At the very least, Eddie could at least stick to one plan, whether it was to go or stay, and not base it off how a girl treats him. That kind of decision making gets him into all sorts of trouble that’s more than it’s worth…

Overall, I wasn’t as invested in the story as I was in the beginning where it had shown a lot of promise. Partly because of what happens as the plot progresses and partly because of Eddie becoming less of a likeable character. Well, that’s all I have to say about Sucktown, Alaska by Craig Dirkes. It wasn’t the novel for me, but I’m sure that had to do with my biases more than the writing itself. If you have any thoughts or questions about this book, feel free to leave them in the Comments section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

