Hello, lovely readers! I’m back with another Which Cover Wednesday! For those of you who don’t know, Which Cover Wednesday is a meme that I host. In it, I compare different covers of the same book and give my opinion on which cover fits the book better. You can also join in on the fun by commenting down below on which is your favourite cover and why. Today’s covers are:

1. A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee

the-agency.jpg or the-agency-2.jpg

In this case, I really like the second cover because it gives off more of a mystery vibe to me, with its colour scheme and the shrouded house in the background. Plus, I really admire the second cover’s typography! 🙂 I also like the fact that it looks appealing without the model on the cover. Don’t get me wrong; the first cover looks great as well. But I do have a thing for covers without models and this is no exception!

2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (US and Polish editions)

siege-and-storm.jpg or siege and storm-2.jpg

OMG! Second cover looks great! While both these covers look similar, the second cover looks like a re-vamped version of the first that I cannot say no to. It just instantly draws my eye to it…

3. Heist Society by Ally Carter (US and Australian editions)

heist-society.jpg or heist-society-2.jpg

This one’s an easy pick! I’d go with the first cover! I like how it’s not too obvious, playing with the pun in the title by having the model mimic someone from high society, with her sunglasses and her top (from what I can see of it). Meanwhile, reflected from her glasses is a painting that she looks ready to rob! The second one just looks like a model stunt, with the effects appearing to be part of the background used to sell whatever it is the model’s selling… Maybe her jacket ( it is a nice jacket… 😉 )?

4. Special feature: Caraval by Stephanie Garber (US, UK, and Russian Editions)

27883214
or

caraval-2

or

caraval-3

Thank you, Liliana @ Liliana N Bookish, for suggesting these three covers! I honestly wouldn’t have even known about the third one if it wasn’t for you!

As to which cover I prefer, I think it would be the US edition first, then the Russian edition, and finally, the UK edition. I love the simplistic and elegant look of the first one. It’s not over the top but it’s intriguing enough to hold its own, all without divulging a concrete image of the characters that’ll be stuck in a reader’s head through the novel. The Russian cover, on the other hand, would be perfect for a graphic novel, with its whimsical animation and attention to detail. I just don’t think that it’s as suited to a novel as the US edition is. And compared to these two covers, the UK edition looks boring in comparison…

Well, that’s it for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! If you have any thoughts or questions about these covers, or suggestions for next week’s Which Cover Wednesday, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

