My rating: green4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, fellow readers! I’ve just finished reading Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant, and I must say, that I really enjoyed reading it. And to be honest, I didn’t think I would. It’s about a girl named Eva who experiences residues of emotion whenever she touches things-people, clothes, phones, etc. She tries to limit her touching objects and people to a minimum, and instead, uses her powers to identify people’s math frustrations as a math tutor. Then, one day, Eva tutors a new student named Zenn and finds herself drawn to him. More so once Eva discovers she can touch him without incident. But as she gets closer to him, Eva discovers something about Zenn that can stand in their relationship.

So, as I said before, I didn’t expect this book to be my cup of tea. I haven’t read paranormal romance in a while. But it was really sweet, with its dialogue and the characters who delivered it. While might have been predictable at times, I was still invested in the story and what was going on in Eva’s life. I’ll admit, at first, the backstory was kind of confusing. But as the story progressed, and more was revealed, Eva’s backstory became clear. I actually liked how that was laid out more than if there was just a lot of exposition at the beginning. Although there were a few things that needed explaining by the end of the novel…

While I did enjoy reading Eva’s POV altogether, sometimes I wish I could get someone else’s perspective. She can be really unintentionally judgy at times, which rubbed me the wrong way. It might be because she distances herself from people, so she never really gets to know them, but an idea of them. It was still a bit jarring at times to read about all these stereotypes about teenagers, girls and guys. But I notice that while Eva does live by these stereotypes, it doesn’t mean that other characters have to adhere by them as well. Which is a relief, I might add! The secondary characters aren’t just background noise in Eva’s story, but actually bring their own issues to the table and become more fleshed out because of it.

As for Eva and Zenn’s romance, even I did have my own qualms about it, I did enjoy reading how they met to every little development in their relationship. I thought they were a really good fit for each other! It’s just that the ending doesn’t address my main problem with their relationship, so I’m not as keen on it as I would have been otherwise…

So, that’s my take on Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant. If you’re searching for a nice and fluffy read, then look no further!And any comments or questions about Zenn Diagram are welcome in the section below! Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

 

