My rating: pink3

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, everyone! Today, I’ll be reviewing Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery by Melanie Fishbane. As the title suggests, it’s a novel focused on the early years of  L.M. Montgomery, author of the Anne of Green Gables series. As she’s coming into her own as a writer, she faces challenges in the form of grandparents who try to tame her, classmates who try to ruin her, and an absentee father on the other side of the country who seems to want nothing to do with her. While I was able to read the book from cover to cover, I discovered that it wasn’t my cup of tea. 

What I  liked about this book was the protagonist, Maud. She always tried to do the right thing while trying to balance what was right to her versus what was proper at the time. Maud also had a wicked sense of humour, which always goes far with me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus, I always felt like I was in her corner whenever someone was trying to undermine her, whether it was her grandparents, stepmother, or schoolyard bullies. Probably because I have a thing for championing the underdog, which Maud seemed to be most of the time.

As a whole, I really enjoyed reading a fictionalized account of Maud’s life. Especially when I felt there was a Little Women vibe going on within the book. Maud reminded me a lot of Jo. In fact, whenever she (Maud) would mention Little Women, it would make me so ecstatic! I almost forgot that this was based on the author of Anne of Green Gables and was just another fictional protagonist. I usually don’t read historical fiction but this was different. While the book was rooted within the past, I could imagine it easily and enjoy what it had to offer. 

However, I didn’t like how it the book dragged on after a certain point or was divided into parts rather than just a continuous story. Sometimes, especially at the end, I felt myself skimming parts to get to the juicier parts of the story. Overall, the fact that it dragged on, starting from part two of the book, really affected how I feel about this book during and after reading it. I’d give this a 3 star rating overall.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery by Melanie Fishbane. It had a protagonist that I admired, but I couldn’t lose myself in the story. Any comments or questions you might have about the book are welcome in the section below. And for anyone whose interested, Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery comes out on May 16th, 2017.  Thanks for reading, everybody!

–  Sumaya

