My rating: blue4-copy

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey there, fellow bloggers! It’s time for another review and this one’s on The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares. The book focuses on Sasha, Ray, Quinn, Mattie and Emma as they deal with the aftermath their parents left them with. Emma, Quinn and Mattie’s parents ended their relationship years ago, have remarried and had more kids (Sasha and Ray). The only thing left connecting them other than their offspring is the house they share in Long Island. Every other week, a different family spends time in the house, and never do those two families meet. It sounded really intriguing to me, which is why I requested it on NetGalley! 😉

I’ve got to say, I’ve been on a Contemporary YA role lately, and it looks like it has no signs of stopping. I don’t know why exactly I’ve been riding the Contemporary YA train. Usually, when people ask me what genres I like, I usually respond with Fantasy first, then Contemporary. But lately, I haven’t been wanting to read much Fantasy… hopefully that’ll change soon…

Anyway, back to the review at hand. I really enjoyed reading The Whole Thing Together. At first, it took me a while to get used to the 3rd person narrative and invested in the characters, but when I did, it was great! I especially liked it when I got to learn more about Sasha, Mattie, Ray and Quinn. Not so much when it came to Emma though. I feel as if she didn’t really have anything at stake in this book in terms of development or wanting to bring about development. Whenever the 3rd person narrative would get to her, I always found myself unable to connect with her, feeling as if she’s a flat character. Maybe the author tried to give her more depth later on by adding some flaws, but I felt as if it were too late by then to develop Emma into a complex character. The book was practically over by that point.

As for the plot, things were really tense in terms of the book’s tone, which made me want to keep on reading. It was mainly the history surrounding the parents and their fallout that made me intrigued in the book. I wanted to see how things would unfold, especially between the two families, because it most certainly was going to. However, I did not see that it was going to unfold the way it did, or the revelations that happened along the way. Overall, The Whole Thing Together was a bit predictable, but not too much that it ruins the book.

Well, that’s all I have to say about The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good Contemporary YA read as well as to any fans of The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. There were some similarities I found between that series and The Whole Thing Together. And for those who are interested, The Whole Thing Together comes out on April 25th, 2017! If you have any comments or questions, feel free to share them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everybody!

–  Sumaya

