My rating:

pink3

Hey there, fellow readers! I’ve finally gotten around to reading #famous by Jilly Gagnon! Hooray! 😀  It’s always nice to see a book go from your TBR pile to the Read pile on Goodreads. 😉 Even though I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would, I’m glad that I read it. The book alternates between the perspective of our two protagonists, Rachel’s and Kyle. One day, while at the mall, Rachel posts a picture of Kyle working at Burger Barn to her friend, Monique, only to have it become viral within just a day’s time. This book focuses on how they both handle the pressure of being put into the spotlight, all the while wondering if there is something between them. It sounded really cute, and I still like the idea of the premise; I just don’t like certain aspects of the book.

One thing I was in full support of was the romance factor in the book. That was just off-the-charts-cute! Usually, I wouldn’t care as much about the romance within a book compared to the other components, like plot or character. It’s not that I don’t like a good pairing; it’s just that sometimes, I don’t think it really adds anything to the story. In this case, it was all about the pairing, and I think the author did a good job in making sure they clicked.

What I didn’t like though was the way girls were only portrayed as “catty” to each other. The day after the picture went viral, people were downright horrible to Rachel, but super nice to Kyle. Even Kyle didn’t think much of it other than the fact girls could be mean. He didn’t think more of it unless prodded by his friend later on. I’m not sure if it’s the author’s way of critiquing society at the moment or if it’s just part of the cliched contemporary YA novel, where cliques and status quo in high school matter… There wasn’t much reasoning behind it, which made me question whether the Contemporary YA stereotype of mean girl is being used just for a nemesis role rather than another character with complex feelings. At least I could see more of a developed character with one of the popular girls, who actually felt bad for Rachel and empathized with her…

I also didn’t like how some issues were left unresolved, like with Rachel and Jessie, or Rachel’s mother. I wish we were given more answers from their point of view, but we don’t get more than the limited perspective of our two protagonists.

Well, that’s my take on #famous by Jilly Gagnon. While I did start out liking it, the book didn’t stand out for me compared to the other Contemporary YA novels out there… What did you think of #famous? If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

– Sumaya

