My rating:

black4-5

Hello, fellow readers! I’ve recently finished Twisted Palace by Erin Watt, the last book of the Royals trilogy, and it was great! So many things happened and the suspense was killing me. This book focuses on Ella and Reed’s perspectives as Reed is being charged for a crime he claims to be innocent of. Only Ella isn’t quite sure of that. With everything conspiring against them, Ella and Reed must find out what exactly happened, unraveling more than one secret in the process. Throughout the story, I kept on thinking, “whodunit?” and had lots of theories about the guilty party and their motives. I guess having all those theories paid off, because one of them was sort of right. And when I mean sort of, I mean I couldn’t guess the full story even if I wanted to! It was so surprising!

I just want to say is that this is the first time I’ve ever marathoned a series. At least for blogging, that’s for sure. Usually, I’d move on to another story and its world, because I couldn’t see myself invested in reading an entire series for that long. My mind would be thinking of other books I could be reading, along with the fact that most people had to wait awhile before getting the next instalment of the series, so I can too. But I just couldn’t do that after Paper Princess or Broken Prince. I had to see what would happen in Twisted Palace, and needless to say, things sure did get a little twisted! 😉

So many things happen in the last book that I cannot believe it didn’t come across as overdone. The book did poke fun at itself though, like when resident mean girl Jordan called Ella’s life a soap opera, saying “what’s going to happen on next week’s episode?” while laughing on the floor, unable to believe any of this is happening. Honestly, the only thing I had a problem with plot-wise was the investigative parts. I felt like there should have been more, or at least a bit more logical. I didn’t like it when people would be blamed just on likeability alone. That’s the whole reason why Reed’s in this mess! That and circumstantial evidence.

And even though we still didn’t get a focus on certain characters (*cough* Sebastian and Sawyer *cough*), we do get a bit more intel on other characters, including some that I never expected to hear about. We learn more about the Royals world, how it came to be, as well as how everyone fits in it now, including Ella. I really like Ella’s development within these three books. I already loved her in the beginning and as time went on, she just became more endearing to me. If she had learn anything from the Royals, it would be loyalty, which Ella had a problem with at first. She was always ready to run and never kept ties to people for too long. By the third book, though, readers can see that this has changed and she’s more willing to open up and make connections with others. Anyways, I was always Team Ella and I think I always will be! 🙂

Well, those are my thoughts on Twisted Palace. I really liked this series and I recommend it to anyone who’d like a little (I mean a lot) of drama in their read! If you have any comments about Twisted Palace or The Royals Trilogy as a whole, I’d love to hear about them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

