My rating:

blue4-5

Hey again! I’m back with my review on Broken Prince by Erin Watt! It’s the sequel to Paper Princess and alternates between the perspectives of Ella Harper and Reed Royal, the brother who captured and broke Ella’s heart in the space of one book. Now, he’s trying to win Ella back and prove to her that they should be together again. I honestly thought that this book was much better than Paper Princess, explaining a lot of questions raised in the first book, all without losing its touch and becoming boring as well! Along with its wittiness, reading this book made my day! 😊

First things first, this book effortlessly connected its beginning with the cliffhanger of Paper Princess. Not only that, but it started a bit before the cliffhanger in Reed’s POV so that readers knew exactly what was going on. It was so satisfying knowing what exactly was going on in Reed’s mind! I felt more sympathetic towards him rather than just thinking of him as a huge jerk… I wouldn’t say I’m 100% on board with Reed and his shenanigans, but I don’t hate him anymore. The only sad thing was that readers heard less from Ella as a result. And as much as I’ve warmed up to Reed, Ella is still my favourite character and I just love seeing things from her perspective! There’s just this edginess that, combined with her inner sweetheart, appeals to me.

In case you were wondering, the plot of Broken Prince fails to disappoint! There was always something to worry about, from baby daddy drama (not saying whose 😉) to school tiffs escalating into full-fledged reckonings. There were also calm moments in between like whenever my favourite BFF duo, Ella and Val get together. Or when Easton would say something really crude but humourous. The hectic and calm moments balanced each other out nicely.

Also, after the cliffhanger in Paper Princess, I thought that Broken Prince couldn’t possibly top it, ending-wise. At the same time, I was really wary of what kind of ending I would be left with, also because it’s the penultimate book of the series. And my instinct was pretty spot on because that ending was something!

Well, that’s all I have to say about Broken Prince by Erin Watt. I thought it was even better than Paper Princess, but that’s just my opinion! What did you think of Paper Princess and Broken Prince? If you’ve read either of these books, or have any comments or questions about the series thus far, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

