My rating: purple4

Hi, lovely readers! Sorry I haven’t been posting lately. Things have been hectic lately that I’ve been writing this review for a few days now. It’s gotten so bad that I’ve already read the second book of the series and am now reading the third. But I’m still pretty excited to share my thoughts on Paper Princess, so here goes nothing! 🙂 Paper Princess is told in the perspective of Ella Harper, a seventeen year old who had to strip to make a living, until a friend of her absentee father, Callum Royal, becomes her guardian and brings along wealth, security, food to eat and a roof over her head. The only catch? She has to deal with his five sons, who not only hate her, but will do everything they can to let her know just how they feel about her. And Ella will either have to bow down to the Royals or learn how to play with the best of them.

For the most part, I really liked this book for its plot. I always wanted to know what happened next and wondered how it would affect the characters once it did. It’s the same reason I bought Broken Prince, the sequel, seconds after finishing Paper Princess. I just wanted to know what happened after that cliffhanger as well as the reason it did happen. Also, at some points, you can kind of guess what’s going to happen or guess at the motives of the characters, but it felt more rewarding than just guessing based off genres and tropes.

The characters and their relationships are another matter. I had a few problems with the way Ella was being treated. In some cases, I was downright angry by how people in the book, especially the Royal brothers, treated Ella based off their own assumptions and biases. It wasn’t until much later within the novel that I started liking more of the other characters… and it took me even more time to get used to the romantic pairing…I did love the friendship between Ella and Val. It seemed so effortlessly real and endearing, the way they just clicked.

One thing that bugged me was that some characters were developed and round, while others are barely there and given less space to develop because of this. Sawyer and Sebastian are a part of the Royal family yet I feel as if they don’t play any major role within the first book. Hopefully, readers will get more insight into the minds of Sebastian and Sawyer Royal in the future.

I’ve got to give it up to this book, though: it knows how to leave us hanging with a huge cliffhanger! I’m not one for marathoning a series; usually, I just read another book and come back to the series eventually, if not at all, but I immediately downloaded Broken Prince as soon as I finished Paper Princess! I recommend this book for anyone who loves a tough protagonist that can handle her own, juicy drama, and an unexpected ending! That’s all I have to say about Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I’ll try to write a review for Broken Prince soon (hopefully by the end of this week)! 😉 If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to share them in the section below. Take care and keep reading!

– Sumaya

