My rating: blue3

Hey, everyone! Sorry it’s been a long time since my last review, but I’ve been in such a slump lately, picking up books and then finding myself disinterested in them. This book was different, because at least I was interested enough to read through the whole story. It’s about a girl named Charlotte who vows not to be like her mother and sister, falling into love and trouble, and instead focuses on a goal of getting a Stanford admission letter. Along comes Tate, ex-rockstar, and that commitment to no boys goes out the window as he showers her with attention and gifts. All the while, the mystery around Tate thickens as Charlotte is asked to question what made him quit music, or the reason he’s distant at times. While I enjoyed reading the book in the beginning, overall, I didn’t really like Flower as much as I thought I would.

First of all, I don’t like the romantic pairing in this book at all. Together, they are a train wreck, but separate, they are interesting enough. I liked them better when they weren’t together, probably because there were so many signs that Charlotte and Tate had a toxic and unhealthy relationship. As the story progresses, Charlotte goes from being someone with a plan for her future to someone with a full-on obsession with Tate. And to make matters worse, Tate seems to like the fact that she has less control of what she wants and happily chooses for her. Honestly, by midpoint, I was ready for this story to end. Not that the ending was better. If they had stopped a chapter before, I would have been happy with the ending overall. But the way the book ends makes you wonder if what Charlotte did was commendable or not… That’s all I’m going to say on that matter because I feel like I’m close to spoiling the ending, which is the only thing that got me going through in the middle.

As for the plot, while the beginning was amazing, my interest in the book slowly decreased as I was reading, to the point where I felt myself skimming just to get to the designated ending. I liked the fact that the book had a dark undertone to it. Right from the getgo, I knew it wasn’t going to be just another contemporary where protagonist meets love interest and they have a couple of problems before working things out. I thought that it would be more interesting. And at first, it was. Once Charlotte and Tate got together, I started losing interest, unless it was to point out all the red flags in their relationship. Which sounds really horrible, now that I think about it…

Well, that’s all I have to say about Flower by Elizabeth Craft and Shea Olsen. While I didn’t enjoy it, I feel like other people would. The writing was great; it was just my biases that got in the way of really liking the book. Have you read Flower and what did you think of it? If you have any thoughts or questions about Flower, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

