My rating

red3.5.png

Hello, everyone! It’s time for another review! This one is on The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee. It’s about a girl named Mimosa, one of the only two aromateurs in the world. Using  her sensitive nose, she finds love for other people based on the compatibility of their scents, all the while mixing herbs to open their eyes to each other. But never for herself, since this will render her nose useless. While this precaution may have been easy to follow before, when Mimosa abandons homeschooling to go to public school, it complicates things. A lot. I’ve got to say, I really liked reading this book from the getgo. It was light, airy, and the plot was fun to read. For me, it was a good read that was short and sweet.

The main thing that I liked about The Secret of a Heart Note was the amount of drama Stacey Lee could fit into 384 pages. From matchmaking to her own drama, Mimosa never leaves us bored. With the amount of stuff going on, no wonder she’s pretty tired and stressed by the end of the book. Anyone would be after going through the wringer like that. I also enjoyed the amount of history and detail put into the story of aromateurs- how they came to be, their ancestry and whatnot. It made me wish that I could learn more about the earlier aromateurs that shaped Mimosa’s life in the present. Especially Larkspur, the ancestor who caused the curse that forbade future aromateurs from love.

While I did like the book, I also found some parts of it to be perplexing. For instance,the main character, Mimosa, didn’t seem as interesting to me as the other supporting characters. I liked hearing more about Mimosa’s mother and aunt’s relationship rather than her love story. And I didn’t find her to be a believable character because of the language she uses. It seemed too formal for a teenager. I thought that maybe because she was homeschooled, Mimosa learned to talk this way, rather than from other children while growing up. I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt that way, but it still grated me whenever she got too formal and less colloquial.  But that’s just my opinion; I’m sure others thought that Mimosa is fine just the way she is.

Overall, I liked reading The Secret of a Heart Note, but I wouldn’t think of it as a first choice for recommendation. Have you read The Secret of a Heart Note or any other books by Stacey Lee? If so, what did you think of them? Any thoughts or questions you might have are welcome in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

– Sumaya

