Hello, lovely readers! It’s time for Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a meme I host where I compare two different covers of the same book and give my opinion on which does it better. And feel free to join in on the fun as well, by sharing your thoughts on these covers in the Comments Section below. Here are this week’s covers 🙂 :

1.  A Tale of Two Besties by Sophia Rossi

besties.jpg or besties-2.jpg

In this case, I’d choose the first cover. Maybe it’s just the placement as well as the typography, or even the background, but the first cover is more appealing to me than the second one. On the other hand, it could be because I don’t really like the second one with the way it sets up the title and the overall paleness of it; this cover isn’t as bold as the first one.

2. The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer

inventor.jpg or inventor-2.jpg

First cover, first cover! As you probably know after reading a bunch of Which Cover Wednesdays, I’m not a total fan of models on the cover. That’s why when it’s possible not to have a model on the cover and still make it look good, I’d go for that cover instead. I do like the colours of the second cover, though, but it’s the first one that wins my vote!

3. Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten

beware-that-girl.jpg or beware-that-girl-2.jpg

OMG! And this round goes to the first cover again! I can see what the model of the second cover is doing, trying to be either mysterious or scary, but that is totally undermined by the title’s typography. It just doesn’t match the mood and actually obscures the model’s face instead of enhancing the cover altogether. I think the first cover expresses the thriller genre beautifully with the tones as well as the model facing her back to readers and establishing an air of mystery. Then there’s the wicked typography of the title that I prefer way more than the second cover. All in all, I love that first cover! 😉

4. Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

kill-the-boy-band or kill-the-boy-band-2.jpg

This time, it’s the second cover that gets my love! I really like the way the cover mimics a poster and gives you a bit more on the book than the first one does. With that and the typography, the second cover just looks way better to me than the plain first cover.

Well, that’s all for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! Any covers that strike your fancy? Which cover did you think represent the book best? If you have any thoughts about Which Cover Wednesday, this week’s or on the meme in general, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

