My rating: pink4

(3.75 stars)

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, everyone! Welcome back to another review on Sue’s Reading Corner. I had recently taken a hiatus from blogging for a while, but now I’m pumped to get back into the blogesphere! Today, I’m reviewing Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. This book focuses on Norah, a seventeen year-old living with agoraphobia and OCD, showing her attempts to battle her condition. One day, people move into the house next door, and she starts to get attached to her new neighbour, Luke. I was so excited when I first requested on NetGalley, being one of the first few to click on the Read Now button without having to wait for consideration. It made my day, especially since it was already on my wish list! However, while I did enjoy reading the book overall, I didn’t like Under Rose-Tainted Skies as much as I thought I would.

I would like to start off with saying that I shouldn’t really trust comparisons, and yet here I am, reading a book because it was compared to Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, which I loved! While it did have some parallels with Everything, Everything, I didn’t enjoy  Under Rose-Tainted Skies at the same level. However, it did have an awesome writing style, what with Norah’s voice being authentic and all. It was very easy to relate to her and I thought that it was a more accurate portrayal of someone living with mental illness. Plus, she was pretty witty!

I didn’t like the fact that it was entered around a love interest though, even if it’s in the YA genre. A lot of books in this genre tend to use romantic interests as a catalyst for the protagonist’s development. I can see why, since this is a time when people are interested in romantic relationships, but at the same time, it felt a bit too easy to use Luke as a main contributor to Norah’s mental health. Not that Norah’s OCD and agoraphobia totally vanished at the arrival of Luke, but I just don’t like that he’s the reason she starts to make some progress. But then again, I am anti-romance in a lot of my reviews, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. 😉

Also, while it ended in a hopeful way, I wish to have seen more of Norah during her recovery, rather than just the climatic event that led her to it. In this case, I would give the book a 3.75 star rating, but it was a good book overall.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. If you have any comments or questions about this book, feel free to leave a comment in the section below. Thanks for reading!

– Sumaya

