My rating: black4.5.png

Hello, fellow bloggers! I’m back with another review. This one is on Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies by Lindsay Ribar. I admit, it was the title that made me want to pick up this book. It was just so blunt that I wanted to know more about it. Also, it’s especially comical with the traffic sign attached to it. The book is about a boy named Aspen, who has taken advantage of everyone through his super powers, taking away anything he doesn’t like about people. It’s been in his family for quite a while and until he goes to stay with them, he never really thought about what his powers does to others.

I love how selfish Aspen is; it’s much more refreshing than those protagonists who are more good than bad, but feel guilty about what they’ve done and try to make amends for it all the time. I don’t know what that says about me, but I really liked reading from Aspen’s POV, especially when you as a reader can tell that what he’s doing at the moment is pretty awful, but he thinks it’s alright and appropriate behaviour. However, don’t worry; Aspen does develop within the story and it is fulfilling because he’s come a way ( I wouldn’t say a long way, but more than the first page of the book, that’s for sure).

There’s also the romance within the book. Or the lack of romance. I felt as if this book was more focused on the idea of family and what makes a person rather than the romance between characters. Any romance that was present within the story was warped or broken to the point beyond repair. Anyways, the romance was sidelined for an important part of Aspen’s life to manifest itself: family and his powers. They had such an influence on shaping him to who he is in the present, which can be seen through the amazing flashbacks that gave us just enough information to get by and build suspense. Overall, the whole was about family, not the guy becoming a better person due to love.

That’s all I have to say about Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies by Lindsay Ribar. I thought that this was a pretty great paranormal read with a satisfying ending. If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

 

