My rating: pink3

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, fellow bloggers! I haven’t reviewed a book in a while, but I’m breaking that streak with this review! 😉 It’s on Alterations by Stephanie Scott, which focuses on Amelia’s story as she goes to New York for a summer fashion program and leaving behind everything familiar, including the Laurenti brothers, Ethan and Liam. It sounded interesting, due to the fashion aspect, so I requested it on NetGalley right away. Even though I didn’t like Alterations as much as I thought I would, I’m glad I got a chance to read it.

I liked reading this book at certain times, like when Amelia is working on her fashion projects. I just love seeing the enthusiasm that comes out of her in those moments. Truth be told, I actually chose to request this book because of the fashion side of things. I wanted to see more of that, instead of the weird love triangle that Amelia has surrounded herself in. So, yeah, I’m a bit bias in that regard, and it is probably the reason I didn’t completely like the book. Because I only liked part of the premise. In fact, I kind of wished that the book ended with Amelia finishing her summer program, and expanded a bit more on that instead of the romance factor that had to be dragged out longer than it should have been. Even when she had an epiphany about it.

As for the characters themselves, I don’t think I really liked them. With a few exceptions, like Amelia’s relationship with her mother and grandmother, I didn’t like the characters’ personalities or their interactions with each other. I guess the main thing I didn’t like when it came to the characters was Amelia, Ethan, and Liam. They were just so annoying at times that I couldn’t even believe them! Plus, there’s the fact that I’m not really a fan of love triangles (unless it’s Tessa, Will, and Jem from The Infernal Devices).

Well, that’s all I have to say about Alterations by Stephanie Scott. If you like love triangles and fashion (but not necessarily together), then this is the book for you! If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

– Sumaya

