My rating: pink4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Hello, fellow readers! Hope you all are reading something good today! 😉 I’ve just finished reading Textrovert by Lindsey Summers, which was quite a treat! It was previously published on Wattpad before being picked up by Kids Can Press and is about a teenage girl and boy who accidentally swap phones and start sending messages to each other from those phones. The story is told from the perspective of the girl, whose name is Keeley. When I saw this on NetGalley, I thought that the idea behind the book was really cute, so I pressed the Read Now button that allowed me to read it instantly. And let’s just say I did! 😉

I really enjoyed the book’s writing! The characters had such good chemistry with each other, and there wasn’t too much suspenseful drama that would make you side with a certain character or whatnot. I mean, there was drama, but it wasn’t directly related to Keeley, just a result of something she was a part of. It was really nice to have a light read, especially after recently reading The Cage by Megan Shepherd! That being said, I was really invested in the characters and sad to see them go after I finished reading.

While I liked the relationships between characters, I felt as though I could have saw more of the characters than I did in the story. In the beginning, Keeley is a bit boring with this need to always adhere to everyone else’s desires before her own. That starts to change within the book, but I would have liked to see more of that. We start the story with Keeley not knowing what she wants to do after high school. I’m not saying she had to have a life plan down right there and then, but some decision about what she would do after high school would have been nice to see. I would have also liked to hear more from the secondary characters of the story, like Zach (her twin) and her best friend Nicky. They seemed to have a lot of influence over Keeley, yet we barely get anything resolved with them at the end of it all.

That’s all I have to say about Textrovert by Lindsey Summers. If you’re looking for a light contemporary read, then this is definitely the book for you! Any thoughts or questions you might have are welcome in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everyone!

–  Sumaya

