My rating: blue4-copy

(4.25 stars)

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, wonderful people! Today is the release day of The Homecoming by Stacie Ramee! Happy book birthday! I recently read this book and loved the whole experience.I remember when I first downloaded it from NetGalley. I honestly thought that the book was about homecoming, as in the dance and game, until I read the blurb. While the book does involve sports, The Homecoming is more about a family trying to cope after a fatal accident that leaves their son impaired and the family. The other son in the family, John, is the protagonist of the book and we get his take on the aftermath of the accident years later. John was also a character in Stcie Ramey’s other novel, The Sister Pact. Honestly, instead of being put off by title expectations, the blurb itself made me want to read the book more. So I requested it. And I’m really glad I did.

As a whole, the plot was pretty good for a character driven novel. The plot itself wasn’t as important as the characters who were going through them and discovering truths about themselves. Still, it did help highlight the characters in a certain way. The heart-wrenching way the family acted. The yelling, not being there for each other, like when it comes to talking about problems. It turns out that talking about what really bothers us is one of the hardest things to do- it’s like bearing your soul, on some level. That’s especially the case when it comes to John and his family. Sometimes, it’s better to clear the air so that you know where you really stand, instead of just assuming how the other person thinks and feels. And I did think that it ended pretty well. It was more of an open ending, so it was less disappointing when it ended on a happier note with goals in mind.

While this book was decent in plot, it was really the characters that made it special! Especially John, the protagonist of the novel. I was just so emotionally invested in him, and not because he was a kind of bad boy (although I do have a weakness for those 😉 ). He was just so sweet, especially in the way he interacted with his sister! He wanted to take care of everyone ad rarely thought about himself in the equation… I feel as if he has a hero complex to make up for past actions that he feels guilty for, but thankfully, he learns that it’s just as important to let others take care of you as well. And while almost every character had their bad moments, you couldn’t really hate on them for that because you knew they were trying the best they could.

That’s all I have to say about The Homecoming by Stacie Ramey. It was a great read, and while it is a companion novel to The Sister Pact, it can be read as a standalone as well. If you have any comments or questions, please leave them in the section below. Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

