My rating: black4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, everyone! Another day, another review. This one is on a YA Contemporary book called The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras. It’s told in Viviana’s (the main character) perspective  and talks about her need to be perfect, especially after her ex sends out racy photos of her to the whole school. I’ll admit, it sounds generic with the classic overachiever, but there’s something more to it. I feel as if the experience surrounding her social and family life makes this book and its protagonist stick out a bit more than it would have.

First of all, this book had me right from page one!  I liked how the plot was set up, with Viviana dealing with the aftermath. It doesn’t dwell on the act but the reaction of the images going viral. I thought that the author handled the subject matter really well in showing through Viviana how a person would feel exposed in that type of situation. The only thing I wish I saw in this book is for Viviana’s ex to get what he deserves! I know it’s not really realistic, but I hated him so much! Other than that, I thought that the plot unfolded pretty well overall, although it was a bit predictable at times. Not necessarily a bad thing, especially when it comes to genre fiction. You know something’s going to happen in a certain way that will eventually help develop the character.

The thing that really had me reading this book was its writing! The author made me fall in love with Viviana and her little sister Mila! I think that especially in Contemporary, writing is really important to make the book stand out. Also, I really liked how each chapter was set up as an SAT question that related to Viviana’s life. The first chapter also helped me establish myself as Team Viviana, forever on her side even while she does. Well, except in extreme cases… But I did empathize with her. The plot is semi-predictable, but it doesn’t mean that the characters have to be. I believe that at the end of it all, there has to be some sort of character development, otherwise, why bother reading the book? Unless you’re looking for a sadder tale, that is.

That’s all I have to say about The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras. While the plot was okay, it was really the writing that captured my attention and how the author portrayed the main character, Viviana. If you have any comments or questions, please leave them in the Comments Section below! The Best Possible Answer comes out next week on November 1st, for anyone whose interested. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

