My rating: black4.png

Hey, everyone! Just finished Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and I cannot wait to share my thoughts on it. It surrounds the magical island of Fennbirn and the triplet girls who are born to a queen every generation. Instead of a typical succession of age, once the triplets girls reach sixteen, these girls have to fight to the death in order to prove themselves worthy of the crown. At first, I was reading it more as part of the Book of the Month for a Goodreads group, even though I had it on my Fall TBR. I just thought that it would encourage me to read it even if I tire from it. But I’m glad that that wasn’t the case because I really enjoyed reading this novel!

While the plot itself did move pretty slowly, to the point where it was sometimes almost standstill, I think that it kind of makes sense. Since this is a trilogy having to do with the battle between these three sisters, the only way this would happen is that the plot was stretched out for as long as possible. I think that the author did the best she could in that case, by having lots of perspectives- not just of the sisters, but anyone connected to the sisters, for their own stories. And while the main story might have been slow, the book shows how the crowning affects everyone in the book. And it was really rewarding to read on only to find my theories about characters to be correct! 😉

The characters were incredibly interesting as well! I loved all three sisters and just wanted the best for them, maybe in the form of breaking whatever binds them to the island. I particularly enjoyed reading Arsinoe’s perspective but liked Mirabella’s and Katharine’s, too. Although, sometimes Katharine’s perspective doesn’t seem believable to me. Especially when she talks to Pietyr… Also, the additional characters like Jules, Joseph, and Billy only add to the story! It got me thinking about the people who are connected to the queen not merely as side characters, but characters of their own merit!

That’s all I have to say about Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake for now. If you enjoy reading books that are more character driven than plot, then I certainly recommend this book! Any comments or questions are welcome in the Comments section below. Have a nice day!

–  Sumaya

