My rating: purple4

(3.75 stars)

Hello again! I’m back with a review on the book Watching Traffic by Jane Ozkowski. It’s about a girl named Emily, who is occupied in deciding what to do after high school. She doesn’t really know what she wants but isn’t content with just sticking around her hometown. I thought that this book was quaint and charming, but not enough in terms of pages and information about what would happen to the protagonist later on.

Don’t get me wrong; for a book that was under 300 pages, the author does a wonderful job of creating a complex world where nothing is really generalized and most of the story is as fleshed out as can be. It’s just that after the book was over, I wasn’t really satisfied with how it ended. I wanted to know more about the characters, like where they would end up and if they would ever stay in touch. I felt as if this book was the beginning of their story, and readers were only getting a sneak peek of what is in store for these characters. That being said, I never really got bored reading Watching Traffic.

I also loved how the characters were displayed in this book! Our protagonist’s perspective is unique enough yet believable and relatable to readers. While I cannot say I understood what she has been through, I empathize with Emily’s traumatic experience and current predicament. Emily also has a great sense of humour that coloured the story and made it more than just the sad story it would have been without it. I really liked her, and I wish I got to know more about her!

Overall, this was a great read, but really short, so I’m not sure if I fully enjoyed it. If you enjoy short, poignant but brilliantly funny reads, this would be the book for you. That’s all I have to say about Watching Traffic by Jane Ozkowski for now. If you have any thoughts or questions, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day!

–  Sumaya

