My rating: pink3

(3.25 stars)

Hey, everybody! I’m back with another review, and this time, it’s on Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler. It’s about a teenage girl named Ally, who works for her best friend (and upcoming starlet) Vanessa Park on the set of Daylight Falls, a new tv show, in order to save up for college. I’ve actually wanted to read this book for a long time; it’s just one of the books that the library has never purchased and Indigo never had in stock at store. So, I decided one day that I might as well buy it online and see what it’s about. And even though I don’t regret buying the book, I also didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I guess I put too much hype into the book…

While the story was easy to read, at the same time, I didn’t find it interesting. It pretty much was like any other YA Contemporary book out there except for the fact that it involves more Hollywood than high school (which I liked since I have a bit of an obsession with books surrounding the entertainment business πŸ˜‰ ). But I feel that since it didn’t break the mould, the story was a bit boring to read.

And then there was the chronology of the novel. It confused me a lot! I thought that mere weeks (at most, a month) had passed when it would be months later according to the main character. The romantic development in the novel almost seems unreal because I can’t comprehend what the characters have done so far to get there. If the main character and her love interest ever had any milestones, we never hear about them, other than in physical terms. But almost never emotionally, which was disconcerting to me.

The characters themselves were okay enough to read about, but there were times when they just got on my nerves. Maybe it was the bad communication, the judgmental attitude, or having common YA trope such as the girl who thinks she’s plain but is actually gorgeous to every guy she meets, but I didn’t like the main character or her love interest as much as the secondary characters of the novel. Luckily, there is an actual companion novel about both Vanessa and Josh, the secondary characters that I liked. Maybe if I ever feel like seeing where that went, I’ll buy it in the future…

Well, that’s all I have to say about Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler. While I didn’t think this book was that original, it was easy to read and finish. I wouldn’t recommend it, though. If you have any thoughts or questions, please leave them in the Comments Section below.Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

–  Sumaya

 

