Hey, lovelies! It’s that time of week again: Which Cover Wednesday! Which Cover Wednesday is a weekly meme I host. What happens is that I compare two different covers of a book and give my opinion of which cover looks better. And you can join in on the fun as well by giving your opinion on the covers below (in the Comments Section). Here are this week’s covers!

1.  The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

the-thousandth-floor-2 or the-thousandth-floor.jpg

This one’s a hard choice, since I really like both covers. But if I had to choose, I’d go with the first one because it looks more simplistic yet elegant. Also, I feel like the second cover focuses on one person when there are multiple people involved in this story. And then there’s the fact that it’s a really bright yellow, which for some reason seems to suggest a happy and joyful mood… Because of this, I don’t think that the second one fits the story behind the cover.

2. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch (English and Russian)

love-and-gelato or love-and-gelato-2

Love that first cover! The pastel cover scheme is pretty sweet and I just adore how the cones were drawn! Again, the cover art and typography are simplistic but so effective. Plus, in the case of the second cover, the cones are floating in the sky, which seems kind of odd to me…

3. Freeks by Amanda Hocking

freeks.jpg or freeks-2

If it was a choice in buying the book with either the first or second cover, I’d go with the second. I just like the drawing style given to the cover more than the photoshopped image of the first. I also like the second cover’s typography because it looks a bit more circus-like.

4. Popular: A Memoir by Maya van Wagenan

popular.jpg or popular-2.jpg

Take a look at that second cover! I like the fact that the placement of the title is on the book the girl is holding, so it seems as if she’s reading a book of that title, too. I think it also fits the story being told as well since the protagonist actually follows a book’s advice on how to be popular. And the colour scheme of the second cover isn’t too shabby either! 😉

Well that’s it for Which Cover Wednesday! Were there any covers that you particularly liked? Tell me about it in the Comments Section below! Have a nice night, everyone!

–  Sumaya

