My rating: blue4-copy

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, everyone! Hope you’re all having a great Tuesday! I just finished reading The Delphi Effect and it was so intense! At first, I thought that it might have been boring and went on to reading other books before coming back to it again. I don’t know if it was the time away from the book or if it was just reading it when it finally got good, but I got really engrossed in the story after that!

As I’ve said, the book was really intense. I think that mainly had to do with the amount of action in the plot. The story’s intensity was like a car chase, with one thing after the other. The book kept you on your toes and just when you think that things are finally going to mellow down, they don’t. After the slow beginning, I really liked that. And then there was also the world building involved, which I thought was really great. In terms of urban fantasy or paranormal books, it’s up to the author to fit the idea of our current reality and fantasy side by side in a believable manner so that we and the characters can actually believe what’s going on or are unable to see one form of life without the other. At least, that’s how I think the genres of urban fantasy and paranormal act in my opinion. I loved the detail given to the powers people had and the history behind them. But then again, I always loved effective worldbuliding; basically, world building that helps define the story but doesn’t become all there is as well! 🙂

The characters were pleasant enough to read about. There were times when I thought that the main character, Anna, was a bit too naive. However, at the same time, I understood her actions and thoughts, which helped me sympathize with her. Overall, I liked her as a character and cannot wait to read more of her story in the sequel. In terms of relationships between characters, I liked the more platonic ones more than the romantic affiliations. Maybe it’s because the romance didn’t have as much a chance to develop. Maybe it was because the relationship wasn’t as important as the overall plot. All I can say is that  I wouldn’t put too much stock into it. 😉

So that’s all I have to say about The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker. It’s coming out on October 11th, so if you’re interested in a thrilling paranormal read, this is the book for you! I guess it kind of falls in line with the Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. If you have any comments or questions about this book, feel free to leave in them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

