My rating: purple4

(4.25 stars)

Hello, everybody! I’m back again with another review! I feel as if I’ve been on a Contemporary YA role this whole summer, but I’m going to go with it, since I’ve been reading such amazing books! 😉 Today’s review is on The Sound of Us by Julie Hammerle. It’s about a girl named Kiki who is at opera camp for the summer in order to obtain a full scholarship to Krause University. The competition is intense and Kiki finds out just how passionate she is about singing to stay.

If you’ve followed my blog for a while, you’ll know that I have a soft spot for these kinds of books; ones that are about the entertainment biz and how people try to achieve success within them. Maybe it’s because of the passion of the characters or how creative they can be, but I just love reading about them! It also helped that Kiki knew a lot about TV and had a  pop culture reference every few pages. In fact, they had a whole TV series called Project Earth that I wish were real! I actually googled it to see if it were real, and it wasn’t, which almost made me wish that the author wasn’t as good at doing her job (because I was really convinced of the show’s legitimacy). That really made the book something to read, for me at least!

Then there was the main character, Kiki. I think I loved her right from the first page! As a person who was trying to get out of a mini reading slump after P.S. I Like You (thanks a lot, Kasie West 😉 ), this was the book that made it possible. Other than having a really awesome meet-cute and plot altogether, the book shows how Kiki develops into a strong character who isn’t infallible, but is still really admirable. She has such high integrity that I can’t help but applaud her, even when she knows she’s in the wrong and beating herself up about it. The book also had a bunch of great side characters that were funny, real and complex enough for me to believe them. It’s just a pet peeve of mine when side characters are relegated into stereotypical roles. I’m not saying that they have to have fully fleshed out stories; it just would be nice if they weren’t didn’t have a single role that defines them. But I’m glad Julie Hammerle avoided it! In fact, I think the author has done a great job with character development and how the characters interacted with each other. I look forward to reading her next book! 🙂 The only reason I gave it 4.25 stars instead of 5 stars was because I was able to put it down; that’s all! 😉

Well, that’s all I have to say about The Sound of Us by Julie Hammerle. If you have any comments, questions, or even recommendations on what I should read after this book (if you know books that are similar to this one), feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

