My rating: pink5

(4.5 stars)

Hey, lovely people! I just read the cutest book the other day and cannot wait to talk about it with you guys… It’s P.S. I Like You by Kasie West! This book was just pure cotton candy! It’s about a girl named Lily who gets bored in Chemistry one day only to doodle a song lyric on the corner of her desk. The next day, someone else responds with the next verses of the song and they start to send letters back and forth to each other through that desk. When I first heard about the book, I thought that it was really sweet and put it on my Goodreads TBR pile right away. I was so excited to read it that I was worried I overhyped the book for myself. Luckily, I was wrong and it was just as good as I imagined. 😉

Kasie West’s writing style is just so addictive to read. You can’t help but love how she depicts characters like Lily and her family. And it’s nice to see more involvement from that side of her life, you know? Maybe it’s because the last book I read, there was barely any mention of the protagonist’s parents… or any other parents for that matter… :S But anyways, her family may have been loud and overbearing to her at times, but they were also lively and there for her at other times. I also like the pacing of the novel; it didn’t drag anything out for too long a period of time… Kasie West masterfully buried the lead about what was going on, merely hinting it so that piqued my interest. While I could see how the entire novel would play out, I wanted to know more about the characters (and not only during the course of the novel, but even when referring to the timeline before it) and their relationships with others.

I thought that the whole old-school letter exchange was just lovely! There’s something about written information letting someone’s personality shine. There was also an anonymous factor that lets Lily and her Chemistry pen pal feel at ease in having an outlet to share information with. I felt as if it was such a contrast to how they normally act around people that it was refreshing to read. I think I looked forward to their letters even more than they did! 😛The only problem I had with the book was that I felt as if it ended too early. I wanted to hear more about Lily and her songwriting competition!

So that’s all I have to say about P.S. I Like You by Kasie West. Have you read it? And did you like it as well? I’d love to hear about it in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading, everybody!

–  Sumaya

