My rating: blue4 copy.png

(3.75 stars)

I received an ebook copy from the author for an honest review

Hello, everybody! I’m back with another review! This recent book review is on November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson. I’d like to thank Shannon for giving me a copy of this book, as well as its sequel, to read! November Rain is set in the near future (the year 2089) where bad bloods, the name given to people with supernatural abilities, are feared and prosecuted. In the book, there is an election going on that will either be in favour of the bad bloods or against it. In the centre of it all is Serena, a bad blood who has just escaped the blood camp, and Daniel, the boy who saves her from being caught on the streets again. Separately, these bad bloods are surviving, but together? Who knows what they can accomplish. 😉

Bad Bloods was originally supposed to be a single book but has now been split into two: November Rain and November Snow. And that might be the reason why it feels kind of slow paced within the first novel. November Rain does a good job setting things up, but I feel as if things just start to get really interesting by the end of the book. Don’t get me wrong; a certain amount of exposition is needed to understand what is going on in the novel. I just feel as if the book could have ended its major exposition mode early on and have more action-filled scenes…

While its exposition choices left something to be desired, this book was really strong in plot. I remember starting it and thinking “I wonder what’s going to happen next?” At the beginning, it seems clearcut and dry, but by the end of the first book, it leaves you befuddled on how these events had occurred. And that secret reveal at the end? Really makes me want to read the next book!

So that’s all I have to say about November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson. While it is a bit slow to read, I really liked the idea behind it and am eager to read the next book and see what happens. If you have any comments or questions, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading! 😉

–  Sumaya

