My rating: blue5

Hey, everyone! I’ve just finished reading The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet, and I have to say, I really liked it! More than I thought I would! 😉 It focuses on Lydia Bennet’s story after the Pride and Prejudice narrative has run its course. Only it’s not a typical Pride and Prejudice narrative, but one based on YouTube webisodes. In it, Lydia was betrayed by Wickham rather than marrying him, which I find to be an interesting take on the classic. It seemed so problematic to me at the the end of the original text for Lydia to end up with Wickham and no one really give a thought to her afterwards. That’s a major reason on why I liked this book. It really fleshed out her character, even more than the webisodes, if you can believe it. And I know I really liked this book because I had been reading it through both the print and ebook format; I just couldn’t get enough of it. When I would be unable to read the print version, I’d read the ebook version and vice versa.

I loved reading Lydia’s POV. It was just so engaging, fun and interesting. She had a great sense of humour that I could relate to and the way she depicted her experiences were just so vivid to me. I felt as if I was travelling around with her and her friends. And even though she was dealing with some serious aftermath in the form of relationship scandal, Lydia still remained strong and so admirable. She did doubt herself a lot but in the end, she took that experience and made it a part of her, rather than just let it define her.

Overall, I thought that this was a really enjoyable read and I recommend this to anyone who has watched The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and/or The Lydia Bennet, or has read Pride and Prejudice. While I’m hesitant to give this book a full five star rating, at the same time, I cannot really find any fault in it. I just enjoyed it way too much! Maybe later on I’ll recognize a flaw or two, but for now, I’m going to bask in this great read, because I know there will be books in the future that I will probably not like. So I’m just going to make the most of it. That’s all I have to say about The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet for now. If you have any thoughts or questions, feel free to use the Comments Section below. Have a nice day, everybody!

–  Sumaya

